I <3 Whitefish

My family lived in Whitefish, Montana back in the early 1980s. It was only for 4 years, but it’s had a strong hold on our hearts ever since. We would return almost every summer to visit my grandparents and renew our love of that little town. We returned for just one day, but it was enough time to visit all of our old houses and favorite places. I’m sure the guy out doing yard work in front “the red house” was curious about the three cars that drove slowly past his house several times.

4.5_Whitefish-Main-Street

8_Whitefish-Painted-Buildings

After lunch, we split up temporarily so the kids could go to the beach, and my mom, brothers, and I could walk down Central Avenue and visit a few favorite old stores. These are buildings from my childhood. We didn’t attend the Presbyterian church, but I always thought it was so beautiful.

5_Whitefish-Presbyterian-Church

And this is where I used to buy all my barbies (well, bug my parents until they bought them for me).

6_Crystal-Winters

I always loved this Bulldog Saloon sign when I was a kid. I mean, it’s a bulldog that boxes!

7_Whitefish-Bulldog-Saloon

But we didn’t want to spend too much time in town because our favorite place was waiting – City Beach.

9_Whitefish-City-Beach

When planning the trip, we weren’t sure if we’d be able to enjoy City Beach because we were going in early June. Usually the lake doesn’t warm up enough for swimming until July or August. But we lucked out with perfect weather. The water, I’m told, was still cold, but the sand was nice and hot.

10_Penny-Lucy-buckets

11_Penny-Whitefish-Beach

12_Peter

13_Claire-and-Izzy

14_Whitefish-Beach

It was hard to leave the beach, in fact we stayed a little too long, but we were excited to finally meet up with my grandpa and grandma for dinner. It was quite the feast, too!

15_At-Grandpas-House

16_Matt-Izzy-Claire

17_Grandma-and-Mom

Grandma even made special cupcakes to celebrate Matt’s birthday (and Penny helped blow out the candles).

19_Matts-birthday-cupcakes

We let the kids eat the cupcakes because we all wanted some of grandma’s homemade rhubarb pie.

20_Lucy-and-Liam

21_the-grandkids

22_Sisters

And we took advantage of the opportunity of us all being together (something that has never happened before) to take a photo.

18_The-whole-family

Montana means love, warmth (even in the freezing winter), and family to me. It’s one of my favorite places.

5 comments

  1. alison · June 28, 2013

    Love the family photo! How great!!

  2. Tiffany · June 28, 2013

    Love it! I spent quite a bit of time in Whitefish on splits with Shannon (Roberts) beautiful place!! Yet I wasn’t aware of the awesome beach–wasn’t a place we went as missionaries! So pretty.

  3. Karen Huber · June 29, 2013

    Your family photo made me extremely FAMILY sick. I need a FIX from visiting my own family. sigh. I am so happy you were able to get the frameable photo. It’s priceless.

  4. cristen · June 30, 2013

    pretty sure all that family sass in one place could’ve broken my computer

  5. goldenfever · August 26, 2013

    katie i’d never seen this post. i loved it. you captured some great moments. i want copies. so fun! miss whitefish!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

