Meeting Up at Spoon Lake

A few months ago, I came up with this amazing idea that my whole family should rent a cabin near Whitefish, Montana. We used to live there when young (for me, from 2-6-ish) and we all wanted to see our grandpa who lives in Kalispell. Everyone was excited about the prospect, and we started looking for the right cabin. It had to sleep around 13, preferably on a lake, and well, the sleeping 13 was actually kind of hard to find. Amanda ended up finding the perfect place — a log cabin on Spoon Lake. In addition to lots of space, it also boasted a private dock that came equipped with a paddle boat, canoe, and kayak.

Amazingly, since we departed from Salt Lake, Rock Springs, and Golden, we all met up about the same time and immediately headed to the lake.

Spoon-Lake

Or just relaxed on the deck, and Izzy pulled out the ukulele (she and Claire are so talented at it).

Matt-and-Mikey

Izzy-and-the-Ukalele

When it finally got dark, I was excited to try some star photography. The night sky was incredible, but it took a while to figure out my camera settings and exposure times, so the results were a little mixed.

Starry-Night-over-the-Lake

Twinkle-Twinkle

It was a propitious beginning to our little adventure. More later.

9 comments

  1. karmami · June 16, 2013

    not bad at all , I quite enjoy these pics….thanks for sharing

    • katie · June 17, 2013

      Thanks! (and I did weed out quite a few star photos that just did not work at all… 😉 )

      • karmami · June 17, 2013

        well the rest came out great.. I often do that as well…thanks for sharing. have a wonderful day

  2. Anonymous · June 16, 2013

    Looks so fun Katie

    • katie · June 17, 2013

      Thanks! It really was. Waking up to that view for a few days was the best!

  3. Anonymous · June 25, 2013

    Oh I’m so happy (and jealous) that you got to come here with your family! I’ve been checking out your Glacier pictures too. Just beautiful!

    • katie · June 25, 2013

      Thank you! We loved it there so much. It was hard to leave.

  4. Tiffany · June 26, 2013

    Okay so your comment on my blog reminded me that you had posted a link that I had been wanting to look at (but couldn’t at the time you posted it for some reason.) Oh my goodness! Your photos are amazing and I am kicking myself for not making our trip longer and going to glacier. Of course that just means that we have to go back sometime soon. What a beautiful place!

    • katie · June 26, 2013

      Thanks, Tiffany! It’s so hard to see everything, especially when Montana is such a big state! Even though the drive was long, though, it made me wonder why I don’t do it more often. It’s really not that far. If only I had more three-day weekends. 😉

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

