Washington DC Highlights

Two weeks ago, I went to Washington DC for a training class for work. Of course, I turned it into a little vacation and stayed an extra day to see some sights. I’ve been to DC a few times before, but never on my own. Of course, the training class took up most of my time, but I did my best to make up for it. I’m just going to post some highlights here because I’ll be going into more depth about the trip on my new travel blog, Travel Is My Yes.

I hope you’ll hop over there for more details. I’ve only just started posting there, but there’ll be plenty more to come. And if you follow this blog because you like hearing about my travels, then you will definitely like that one. In the future, I’ll be posting mostly about family and about my daily life on this blog and posting about my travels on the other one.

But for now, I just want to share some highlights from my trip to DC. I tried to focus on places I had never been before, so I visited some new (to me) Smithsonian museums.

The Hirshhorn Museum

The Hirshhorn Museum

The Freer Gallery

The Freer Gallery

And saw some memorials that have been built since my last visit to DC in 2005.

The FDR Memorial

The FDR Memorial

The MLK Memorial

The MLK Memorial

I also took the bus to the National Cathedral.

National-Cathedral

National-Cathedral-Interior

And ooh’d and ahh’d over the Library of Congress.

Great Hall of the Library of Congress

Great Hall of the Library of Congress

But of course, I had to visit some of my old favorites.

The National Gallery of Art

The National Gallery of Art

The Jefferson Memorial

The Jefferson Memorial

Thomas J.

Thomas J.

Lincoln Memorial at Sunset

Lincoln Memorial at Sunset

(And sometimes I visited them twice.)

Abe-Lincoln

The Korean War Memorial

The Korean War Memorial

You know I had to visit a cemetery.

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery

But then there were some unique sights on this trip, too. For example, I happened to walk past the World War I memorial just as this couple got engaged.

Proposal

And I planned to take the training class during those dates in hopes of seeing the cherry blossoms. The NPS prediction placed the peak right during my visit, so I was quite excited. However, the lingering cold temperatures delayed the blossoms. It was still very beautiful, but I wish so much that I had seen it during the peak. Still… blossoms!

Smithsonian-Castle

Self-portrait-blossoms

Cherry-Blossoms-Tidal-Basin

Not-quite-blooming-cherry-blossoms

Cherry-Blossoms-DC

That just barely scratches the surface! It was a jam-packed few days. Remember to check out Travel Is My Yes over the next few weeks for more.

3 comments

  1. Christina · April 18, 2013

    You definitely saw a lot! Hope you enjoyed DC 🙂

    • katie · April 18, 2013

      And there was still so much to see! I always end up leaving a place wanting to spend more time there. 🙂

  2. goldenfever · April 18, 2013

    That is so crazy that you saw that couple get engaged. Look at her huge smile. That is so fun! And did they know you got a picture? I would like to see a blog where you take pictures of peoples … moments. You know. Like candids. I guess it’s wrong … like voyeurism. But so innocent. Anyway …. I love seeing the blossoms. Wish you could have it all to yourself. Keep the posts coming!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

