Driving Up Lookout Mountain

I went to Golden this past weekend for a quick trip because it had been far too long since I had seen my little munchkin nieces and nephew. I got in late on Friday night and Peter woke me up bright and early on Saturday morning. I wish I could say it’s because he was so excited to see me, but the first thing he asked was if I brought my phone. This was early enough that we could watch the sunrise as we ate cereal in the dining room.

1_Sunrise-in-Golden

And yes, that photo was taken just outside their front door. They have a pretty amazing view. Mike and Peter had other plans that morning, but Amanda took me and the girls for a drive up Lookout Mountain.

2_Car-Riders

We stopped part way up for views of Golden, including the Coors Brewery.

1_Coors-Brewery-Golden

And even further up, we stopped at a scenic overlook.

3.5_Penny-Lucy-Scenic-Overlook

3_Scenic-Overlook

3_Curving-Mountain-Road

6_Snowy-mountains

4_Glimpse-of-Denver

Do you see a little glimpse of Denver just behind that mountain?

As we crested the mountain, we saw a deer on the side of the road.

5_Wildlife

It was a short drive, but a beautiful one. I had hoped for better weather on my trip. Unfortunately, it was kind of grey and cold and windy the whole time. Good thing I had such cheery company.

2 comments

  1. cristen · March 21, 2013

    i am dying over the matching skirts!!! love it.

  2. Amanda · March 22, 2013

    I WANT MORE PICTURES!!! Loved how you captured the car ride:)

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

