Lovely Arles

I think we ended our three-week adventure in France and Germany on a high note. I really loved Arles. In trying to think of a word to describe why, I keep coming up with “comfortable” for some reason. I think I just felt really content wandering its streets. It was full of charming cafes and beautiful alleys. I liked the woman I bought a pain au chocolat from. She just seemed very friendly. I also liked the woman we bought a sandwich from for lunch. It was maybe the most amazing sandwich I had the whole trip made of fresh mozzarella, avocado, lemon, and herbs. Mmm… so good! And well… I’ll just let the photos do the talking.

1_Charming-shops-Arles-France

2_Streets-in-Arles-France

3_Blue-shutters-pink-building-Arles-France

The symbol of Arles is the lion, and you could see them everywhere, from fountains to churches to the remains of a bridge over the Rhone River.

4_Arles-Square-Lion-Fountain

5_Arles-Church-Relief-Sculpture

14_Lion-Bridge-Rhone-Arles

We went to Arles originally because Van Gogh once lived there, and we wanted to follow in his footsteps for a bit. A cafe in Arles is recognizable from the famous Van Gogh painting Cafe Terrace at Night.

7_Van-Gogh-Cafe-Arles

Now it’s called Cafe Van Gogh in order to capitalize on the connection. It’s kind of disappointing, but I’m glad they at least kept it the bright yellow color. We sat on some steps across from the cafe to eat that delicious mozzarella and avocado sandwich.

We also stopped by the hospital where Van Gogh lived for a while after her cut off his ear. It’s depicted in Le Jardin de la Maison Sante a Arles.

9_Van-Gogh-Hospital

And we stumbled across a sculpture dedicated to Van Gogh while resting in a park.

10_Van-Gogh-Sculpture-Arles

And when walking along the river, we saw – in the daylight – what inspired Starry Night Over the Rhone.

13_Riverwalk-Arles-Rhone

But mostly, in addition to Roman ruins, we saw lots of beautiful streets and tiled rooftops.

11_Arles-Allies-and-Rooftops

12_Beautiful-Street-Arles-France

3 comments

  1. cristen · March 6, 2013

    seriously, that sandwich was great! oh and i love the pic with the blue shutters 🙂

  2. Kris · March 7, 2013

    Wow, what an amazing place and gorgeous photos. I love all the Van Gogh stuff…. I would love to have seen that view in person of what inspired Starry Night, oh I just love that painting (yes, I know EVERYBODY does… but I really do the most!)

  3. Kylie · March 26, 2013

    What gorgeous photos! Sounds like it was a really awesome experience! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

