An Afternoon in Antibes

Even though I didn’t mind the rocky beaches of Nice, we were craving the traditional sandy beach experience, so we hopped on the train for a quick ride to Antibes.

1_Boats-in-Antibes

2_Green-shuttered-doors-Antibes

3_Houses-in-Antibes-France

4_old-building-Antibes-France

5_Antibes-France-Church

It’s a pretty easy walk from the station to the beach, but we went a little further to visit the Picasso Museum first. The museum is housed in the Chateau Grimaldi, and the collection there is pretty intimate. We were able to view everything within an hour. Unfortunately, no photography was allowed inside, and I made the mistake of not writing down the titles of my favorite pieces, so I can’t share them with you. But I can share the view from the balcony.

6_View-from-terrace-Picasso-Museum-Antibes

I could stare at that water all day.

Just be careful not to dance your way off the edge.

8_Dancer-Danger-Sign

Antibes has a large English ex-pat community and plenty of other things to see, but we were eager to hit the beach.

9_Sandy-beaches-Antibes-France

It was a little crowded, but we didn’t have a problem finding a spot to spread out. After reading for a while, I ventured into the water. It was chilly at first, but warmed up. I don’t go swimming that often. I was actually terrified of water and didn’t learn to swim until I was almost 10 years old. Since I’ve never lived by water, I didn’t spend much time in it, so I only have a few memories of swimming in open water. This was definitely one of the more magical ones. There’s something about floating in the Mediterranean surrounded by walls that are hundreds of years old.

10_Cristen-Antibes-France

11_me-in-Antibes-France

There were so many things in and around Nice that I wanted to see and do, but I have no regrets about the time we spent just relaxing and soaking in the sun.

5 comments

  1. Europe Itinerary · February 5, 2013

    Wow, much better than the rocks in Nice! Beautiful blue, clear day, too. Great post!

    • katie · February 5, 2013

      Thanks! And yes, it was such a beautiful day. Something to hold onto now that I’m in the middle of all those hazy winter ones. 🙂

  2. cristen · February 5, 2013

    that was a great, relaxing time. loved it. and i love that you included the dancer sign 🙂 RIP long hair!!!

  3. Amanda · February 6, 2013

    Katie that is the funniest sign! I saw a sign like that in Russia in St. Petersburg that had a man with a rifle marching off the ledge. I didn’t read Russian but I figured it meant watch your step or something. So funny! Dancing seems likely in that area, so beautiful! Take me next time:)

  4. Kylie · February 14, 2013

    Oh man I want to be there RIGHT NOW. So beautiful!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

