French Riviera Boat Tour

Here’s the thing about Provence and the French Riviera – it’s huge! And I wanted to see so much of it. And I only had 3 days to do it. I knew it would be impossible to accomplish even one-tenth of all I wanted to, so I decided to not even try. I would have loved to wander the narrow streets of Villefranche or walk Nietzsche’s path down from Eze, but we were still in relax mode, so we settled for a boat tour of Nice and Villefranche-sur-Mer. We had to walk through Vieux Nice to get to the harbor. Unfortunately, we were in such a hurry to make it to the tour on time that we didn’t get to see much.

1_French-Handmade-Soaps-Nice-Provence

2_Street-Old-Town-Nice-France

3_Streets-Nice-Provence-France

4_Nice-France-Beach

The captain/tour guide was hilarious and very informative. Also, I was very impressed that he gave all of the information in French, English, and Italian. I really thought I’d do a better job of remembering what he told us, but it’s been three months now, and I barely remember anything. Mostly, I just loved feeling the wind and the rock of the boat. But some of these houses (I can’t remember which ones now) belonged to Elton John, Tina Turner, Sean Connery, and some other rich and famous people.

5_Fancy-Mansions-Nice-Coast

5.5_Nice-Coast-Mansions

Did you notice the house in the bottom right has a slide down into the water? How awesome is that?

6_Rocky-Mountains-Provence-Nice-France

7_Mountains-Nice-France

8_Nice-France-Provence-Landscape

Even though I didn’t get to walk the streets of Villefranche, I loved being able to see it from the harbor. All those colorful buildings stacked up against the mountains.

9_Villefranche-sur-Mer-Bay

10_Sailboats-Villefranche-sur-Mer

11_Colorful-buildings-Villefranche-sur-mer

12_Cocteau-Chapel-Villefranche

Back to Nice, where we cruised past the Opera House and Hotel Negresco and million-dollar yachts and lighthouses and sunbathers.

13_Azure-French-Riviera

14_Nice-Shoreline-Buildings

15_Nice-France-Opera-House

16_Nice-France-Lighthouse

17_Nice-France-Harbor-Yachts-Sailboats

18_Sunbathers-Nice-France

Next time I’m in the French Riviera (because I’m sure there will be a next time), I will have lots more to see, but for this trip, a relaxing boat tour was the perfect choice.

One comment

  1. Amanda · February 1, 2013

    Wish I was there right now. The beach and sun are lookin’ so good to me! I’ve started using the soap you gave me. Did you get it there? I love it, smells so good!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

