Finding the Perfect Cuckoo Clock

Ever since I bought my sister a cuckoo clock when I was leaving Austria in 2004, I regretted not getting one for myself. So when we planned our trip to include Bavaria, I knew it was the one souvenir I had to have. One of the factors in my disappointing day along the Romantic Road was that it was Sunday and all of the shops were closed, so I was completely out of luck in my hunt for a cuckoo clock (and for several gifts I was hoping to find for my loved ones). The following day was pretty open. We just had to be in Strasbourg that night. Originally, I had hoped to visit some more of the towns along Lake Konstanz and in the countryside on the way to Freiburg (which I had heard was very pretty) and then up through Colmar to Strasbourg.

But since I couldn’t find a cuckoo clock along the Romantic Road, I knew there was one place to go where I was sure to find one – Triberg im Schwarzwald, home of the world’s largest cuckoo clock. (I actually just learned about that on Wikipedia, and now I am totally devastated that I didn’t see this landmark for myself. How could I miss it?!)

We did linger a little bit near Lake Konstanz, though. The benefit of having a car is that when you see a huge, beautiful pink church off the side of the road, you can pull over and explore a little. It was the Basilika Birnau and it was situated right on the lake next to what looked like a vineyard.

3_Basilika-Birnau

1_Lake-Konstanz

2_Tiny-Boat-Lake-Konstanz

And then we were off to Triberg. Luckily our detour took us through the Black Forest and we climbed up hills (along very narrow roads where I just prayed that we didn’t accidentally meet another car coming the opposite direction) and we would come out upon the most amazing views. It was really gorgeous.

5_Black-Forest-Germany-Road-Fall-Foliage

4_Black-Forest-Germany-landscape

6_Black-Forest-Hills-landscape

Triberg was hilly and mountainy. It actually reminded me of a resort town here in the West, like Park City or Vail. Except that there were tons of stores selling cuckoo clocks and other wood carvings made from trees in the Black Forest.

7_Triberg-Main-Street-Germany

8_Hotel-Bfaff-Triberg-Germany

9_Wood-Carving-Cuckoo-Store-Triberg

10_Triberg-im-Schwarzwald

I certainly had my work cut out for me finding the perfect cuckoo clock. There were so many to choose from! I went to each store along the main road and checked them all out. I wish I had taken photos of the variety, but I got the feeling that many of the store owners wouldn’t have liked that. There were some huge ones that cost thousands of dollars, some modern ones that reinterpret the traditional cuckoo clock, and lots of styles in between. I actually picked mine out in the first store, but I wanted to be sure, so we visited all of them. Then I just went back to the original one. The owner packed it up tight for me, and I carried it with me the rest of the trip. And now it hangs proudly on my dining room wall.

11_The-Cuckoo-Clock

It was definitely worth the side trip to Triberg im Schwarzwald.

5 comments

  1. Amanda · January 17, 2013

    It is super cute! It looks just like the buildings there. You should show a video of it working. I want to see the little people/birdie move:) Mine hangs proudly in the living room. Thanks again!! I love it!

  2. Kylie · January 17, 2013

    Oh, it’s quite beautiful! I’m jealous! I wish I would have been able to get one when we were so close to The Black Forest! Maybe another day. 🙂

  3. Karen Huber · January 19, 2013

    When traveling to my ancestrial farm in the Black Forest a few years back with my folks, we had to locate a clock for them. We found the perfect one on the road to Strasbourg. The store packaged up the clock minus the workings and the weights (my folks carried those with them) and shipped it home to Seattle. Worked out perfectly. I love hearing abt your trip even now. Thanks for sharing.
    The FARM was located on hills just like your picture of mtn hills. Takes me back to a wonderful trip. Karen

  4. paul · August 30, 2014

    Hi! how much is that cuckoo clock you bought?

    thank you.

    • katie · August 30, 2014

      Hi Paul, I can’t remember for sure, but I think it ended up being about $150 USD. Totally worth it. 🙂

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

