Twinkly Christmas Lights

Merry Christmas! I hope you are all having a wonderful holiday. I actually celebrated Christmas last night with my family, so today has felt like a pretty typical day, except that I didn’t have to work. Hooray! Being single with no kids makes Christmas kind of anti-climactic. There’s nothing exciting to wake up to, but it is rather exciting to just be able to sleep in.

It’s a good thing that Christmas isn’t really just about one day or it would be totally disappointing. I really love the build up to Christmas — all of the gift hunting and little activities. One of which is visiting the lights at Temple Square. Even though I go every year, it is always magical. I even went twice this year. Once on accident. I just happened to be downtown on the day after Thanksgiving when the lights came on. Since I already had my camera with me, I decided to walk through on my own. Even though I had to squeeze through lots of crowds, it was really nice to be alone and just enjoy the atmosphere. I walked past the Nativity and the Mormon Tabernacle Choir was piped through the speakers singing The First Noel. I’ve never even liked that song (too repetitive), but my heart was just swelling with Christmas spirit.

1_Orange-Red-lights-blue-sky

2_Bright-Orange-Lights-Temple-Square

3_Pink-Orange-Red-Christmas-Lights-Temple-Square

4_White-Lights-Tree-Temple-Square

4.5_Salt-Lake-Temple-Door

5_Christmas-Tree-Lights-Reflection-Temple-Square

6_Salt-Lake-Temple-Christmas-Lights

7_Salt-Lake-Temple-Spires

The following week, Matt and Izzy invited me to see the lights with them. We also stopped by Macy’s at City Creek to see the candy window displays. They used to create these candy window displays when I was little, but they stopped for several years. It was so fun to take Claire and Liam to see them again. The displays this year were huge ornaments all made from candy. They were incredible! I wish I had gotten better photos of them.

8_Macys-Candy-Windows

8.5_City-Creek-Salt-Lake

9_Orange-Christmas-Tree-Temple-Square

10_Carriage-Salt-Lake-Christmas

11_Holiness-to-the-Lord-Temple-Square

12_Claire-and-Izzy

When Claire saw this fountain, she immediately jumped on the ledge and gave me her “sexy pose.” First of all, when did Claire get old enough to call anything her sexy pose? It was so hilarious and kind of sad at the same time. I both love and hate how quickly she is growing up.

13_Claires-Sexy-Pose

14_Angel-Moroni-red-bokeh-Salt-Lake

15_Izzy-and-Liam

16_Temple-Square-Lights

We were going to get some hot chocolate at the Nauvoo Cafe, but the line was super long. We decided to stop somewhere after instead, but going inside the Joseph Smith Memorial Building gave us a chance to see the beautiful Christmas tree they have.

17_Christmas-Ornaments

Liam loved it!

18_Liam

I wish peace and joy for all of you. Happy holidays!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

