A walk along the Charles Bridge

As I mentioned, the best piece of advice a friend gave me for my trip was to get up early and walk across the Charles Bridge. I assumed it was because she knew I would want to see it in the morning light, and perhaps that was it, but the real benefit became clear as soon as we left our apartment around 7 in the morning. No one else was around. The streets were almost empty. It was glorious! And it was the perfect way to see one of Prague’s most famous landmarks. I’m just going to let the photos do the talking.

1_Walking-to-Charles-Bridge-Prague

2_Me-St-Charles-Bridge-Prague

3_Sculpture-Charles-Bridge-Prague

3.5_Sculpture-Charles-Bridge-Prague

3.75_birds-Charles-Bridge-Prague

4_Canal-Charles-Bridge-Prague

5_Looking-back-Charles-Bridge-Prague

6_Charles-Bridge-Prague

7_Charles-Bridge-Prague

8_Sculptures_Charles-Bridge-Prague

9_Saint-Sculpture-Charles-Bridge-Prague

10_View-Charles-Bridge-Prague

11_Sculpture-Locks-Charles-Bridge-Prague

12_Love-Locks-Charles-Bridge-Prague

13_Charles-Bridge-Vitus-Cathedral

14_Other-side-Charles-Bridge-Prague

15_Looking-back-Charles-Bridge-Prague

16_Vltava-River-Prague

17_Prague-rooftops

18_Katie-and-Cristen-Prague

11 comments

  1. Christina · December 7, 2012

    So gorgeous! What a beautiful stroll!
    I’m surprised to see “love lock” (if that’s in fact what they are) on a Pieta statue. Interesting…

    • katie · December 10, 2012

      Thanks Christina! I hadn’t thought about that with the love locks. I’m going to have to do some research and see if there’s something else behind it.

  2. goldenfever · December 7, 2012

    Katie you look beautiful in that shot.

    • katie · December 10, 2012

      Aww… thanks Amanda!

  3. Kylie · December 8, 2012

    That looks amazing! So beautiful!

    • katie · December 10, 2012

      It really was! I was so glad we got to see it without all the crowds, so we could really enjoy it. 😀

  4. travelwyse · December 10, 2012

    Reblogged this on travelwyse.

    • katie · December 10, 2012

      Thanks for the reblog!

  5. Ariana {And Here We Are...} · December 10, 2012

    This reminds me so much of Regensburg! Of course, not very far at all from Prague. I still regret that we never visited when we were living in Amberg– it would have been so easy. I am loving all of your photos. Sigh… They do make me miss Bavaria– there are so many similarities.

    • katie · December 10, 2012

      It’s funny how we don’t end up visiting things that are so close sometimes. I completely regret that I didn’t do more traveling while I was studying in Austria. I can’t believe how close I was to amazing places and didn’t go. I’m still trying to make up for it. 🙂

  6. Suzanne Bethers Marchetti · December 12, 2012

    Those pictures are so beautiful!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

