Beautiful Dresden

We knew we wouldn’t have much time in Dresden, but we wanted to see it anyway. We had heard it was incredibly beautiful, and I got an amazing deal on a room at the Hilton right in the heart of the historic Old Town. We ended up taking a taxi from the train station, and I felt so posh pulling up to the doors of the Hilton… at least until the doorman put my old backpack on the brass rack and then, even worse, hung my hobo sack (my catchall stashable tote where I put everything I couldn’t fit in the backpack) from a hook on it. You guys, this place was nice! The doorman showed us to our room (we had no idea how much to tip him) and there were even chocolates on our pillows and a complimentary bottle of water (not even the fizzy stuff) on the table. Yep, so fancy!

We dropped off our stuff and headed just down the street for some food. It was a gorgeous day. We really lucked out throughout the whole trip as far as the weather went, but this was the type of weather that outdoor cafe dining was made for, sunny and warm with a cool breeze. After lunch (tapas), we went for a walk around town and I kind of fell in love with it. Everything was just so pretty.

The only disappointing thing about Dresden is that I really wanted to see the jewels at the Green Vault. We had bought a Dresden Card, so we thought we got in for free. Then the clerk told us we had to pay 10 euro each, which we did. Then we looked at all of these amazing little miniatures made from coral and carved from ivory. We thought it was the Green Vault, but then we saw that on the other side of the map, the Green Vault was actually on the first floor. When we tried to enter, we found out that we had the wrong tickets. I was so mad! I even complained to the clerk, and I never do that.

It was just a miscommunication. We had asked for tickets to the Green Vault, but they gave us tickets that didn’t include it for some reason. I have no idea really. And I tried to persuade them to give us free tickets to the Green Vault since (in my opinion) it was their fault for giving us the wrong ticket (although I guess it was probably our fault for not knowing German). They said we’d have to pay, and you know, we had just walked around for over an hour looking at tiny things in the museum and there was still so much to see in Dresden (and I was still mad!) that we didn’t. Now I kind of regret it because it looks incredible!

We decided to get over the mistake by visiting the Zwinger Palace. It’s just down the road. Something great about Dresden is that everything is really accessible. Our Dresden Card gave us free transportation on the trams, but we didn’t even use them. Zwinger Palace has a beautiful courtyard and lots of great stairs and fountains.

And look — I captured God’s footprint.

Cristen wanted to check out some of the museums or maybe climb to the top of some churches, but you know, I was tired. I was in the beginning stages of a cold, and I was just kind of touristed-out. Plus, I had been reading a book on the trains (Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta), and I had gotten really into it. So much that it was all I could think about while we were wandering around. I just had to find out more about Taylor’s mysterious past. So we decided to split up. I wandered back to the hotel and spent a few hours finishing up the book. I struggled with it because I didn’t want to waste time and there was certainly plenty to see and do, but I felt so refreshed afterward that I was glad I chose to spend my time that way.

We enjoyed a leisurely dinner at another outdoor cafe (a veggie-friendly one Cristen had discovered while climbing to the top of a church). Then picked up some gelato to eat while we enjoyed Dresden at night.

We had an early train to Prague in the morning and asked the concierge to call us a taxi. Unfortunately, it was raining, and everyone wanted the concierge to call a taxi. We missed one that was meant for us (someone had nabbed it), so we had to nab someone else’s. It’s a dog-eat-dog world out there, but we had that train to catch. We didn’t want to miss out on Prague, even if I wouldn’t have minded spending more time in beautiful Dresden.

4 comments

  1. janeisawake · November 29, 2012

    Yikes! So beautiful 🙂 ill be there for only 6 hours, as a stop over between Berlin and prague on the train, but better than nothing right?

    • katie · November 29, 2012

      Jane, we weren’t really there for much longer than that because our train didn’t arrive until maybe 12 or 1? I’m sure you’ll still be able to see lots!

      Speaking of – I can’t believe you are already leaving. I’m so excited for you! And I can’t wait to hear about your trip. Will you be able to update as you go? Or just wait until you get back?

      • janeisawake · November 29, 2012

        In exactly 24 hours we will be on our way to the airport 😀

        I’m hoping to update as I go, at least every couple of days. All depends on how my tiny fingers go typing on my ipad, and how reliable our hotel internet connections are… yikes!

  2. goldenfever · November 29, 2012

    The palace looks like the place they shot the last minutes of the Kira Knightly Pride and Prejudice. Anyway … love God’s footprint. What a lovely place.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

