Lavardin – one of les plus beaux villages de France

We had reservations on the night train to Hamburg, so we only had a couple of hours before we had to drive back to Paris. We didn’t think it would be enough time to visit another chateau, so I did a Google search for “beautiful villages in the Loire Valley” and came up with a list of three villages near each other. I was hoping to visit at least two of them, but we really only had time for one. Luckily we picked a good one. We didn’t have any plans for the village or quite know what to expect, so we just wandered around and enjoyed the cheery flowers against the stone buildings.

Cristen spotted a bright yellow post box and sent off the postcards she wrote while waiting for me at Chenonceau.

Nearby was a beautiful map of the town.

There was a small church in the center of the village, so we looked inside. After all of the grand cathedrals with their flying buttresses and stained glass and intricate carvings, I might have liked this church the best. Maybe. It’s too hard to decide, but it was really simple and beautiful.

The frescoes (at least, I’m assuming they were frescoes?) were very faded and difficult to see. I believe this one, though, is of Christ washing the feet of his disciples, which I felt was entirely fitting for the humble church.

When we drove into town, the first thing we saw were the ruins of an old castle. We couldn’t immediately see how to access it, though, so we just went into town. Then we didn’t have time to explore the castle ruins because we had to head back to Paris. So sad! I wish we could have. Another time. (I always have to tell myself that I’ll do something “another time” to keep myself from being filled with regret. It usually works.)

But we did get to see the historic bridge over the Loire.

Despite not being able to see the castle ruins, it was a good thing that we gave ourselves plenty of time getting back to Paris, though, because we hit quite a lot of traffic returning the rental car.

You know what makes it ok to sit in traffic for a long time, though? Doing it in Paris. We made it to the station with time enough to get some dinner and then find our cabin in the train. We splurged and got a two-person berth. It was absolutely tiny, but big enough, and at least it was private.

It felt like camp. We sat on the lower bunk and girl talked until the people next to us apparently thought my laugh was too loud and banged on our shared wall. Even though it was only 9:30 pm. It’s just too bad that it was dark during our whole journey. I tried to lay on the bed and look out the window, but I only saw my own reflection back at me. I thought I would sleep really well on the train because every time I got on the tube or the metro, the swaying motion would almost lull me to sleep. The bed itself was actually pretty comfortable, but I tossed and turned all night. I was just too anxious to finally get to Germany.

4 comments

  1. janeisawake · November 13, 2012

    What a pretty little town!

    • katie · November 13, 2012

      I wish we could have explored even more. It looked like there was a restaurant in a cave! It’s so hard not to have all the time in the world.

  2. goldenfever · November 13, 2012

    I’m in love with this village. I love the chapel. So sweet. It’s everything you want a village to be.

    • katie · November 13, 2012

      I know! I was so glad we stopped there. It was exactly what I was hoping for when I googled “beautiful village.” 😉

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

