Anything and everything a chap can unload

Next on my list of visiting things in London that I didn’t get to visit last time – Portobello Road! I just loved Bedknobs and Broomsticks when I was little, and I loved the scene in Portobello Road. I was so excited when I found out it was a real place. I wondered if it would live up to magic of the movie.

Well, there wasn’t an extended dance scene (thank goodness!), but it was pretty magical.

And crowded! (story of the trip… if you haven’t noticed that already.)

I met up with Kristy and Cristen – half an hour late because two tube lines were out of service and I had to make three transfers – and we walked to the Portobello Road entrance. There are tons of shops and vendors on the road selling all sorts of vintage wares.

We stopped in lots of different shops and spent quite a bit of time keeping track of each other in the midst of so many people. I was just happy to spend a few hours with my dear friend, Kris. It’s seemed so strange that it had been over a year since we last saw each other, and I still have a hard time believing that we can’t just get together for dinner or a movie (I wish!). It just felt so natural to be out shopping together again. Kris was one of my roommates at Utah State. I liked her immediately and have never stopped.

I was expecting lots of colorful wares, but I didn’t expect so many colorful buildings. Was this London or the Caribbean? It was delightful.

We looked at lots more stuff. The sterling silver booth caught my eye and I was just about to check out the goods when someone (not me) knocked over one of the big trays of silverware.

We stopped to eat about half way through and then decided we’d seen enough. It was actually quite difficult for me to stay focused on Portobello Road. There was just so much to take in that it was hard to concentrate on shopping. Plus, I kept thinking in the back of my mind that whatever I purchased there, I would have to carry with me for another 3 weeks. I wish that I hadn’t let that hold me back, though, because there were some great finds. I’d like to return another time… maybe when it isn’t so crowded. Does that ever happen?

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

