trip prep: travel journal

We just spent a few days in Nice, hopefully soaking up some sun and visiting Eze and Villefranche-sur-mer. We’re probably quite exhausted and just relaxing by the beautiful waters of the French Riviera and maybe checking out a few Roman ruins. These are our last few days. We head home on October 6th, so we’re probably just soaking it all in.

Phew… last one. And it’s probably the best preparation, even though it’s something that I’ll be doing throughout the whole trip. I am a big believer in journaling, even if I haven’t been very good at it over the past few years. I think my blog has often taken the place of a journal. But rest assured, I still have my old-fashioned, pen-and-paper journal. I wouldn’t be me without one. Since I won’t be blogging on the trip, I needed some place to write down my experiences. I decided to create a travel journal.

I’m using a big Moleskine journal that a friend gave me for my birthday several years ago. It’s been on my shelf waiting for me to finish my current journal. But since I don’t write as often as I used to, it’s taking a long time to finish the current one. To create the travel journal, I counted the pages in the journal and counted the number of places we will visit, along with how many days in each place. Then I divided up the pages in the journal evenly. For instance, we will be in London for 3 days, so it gets 10 pages but we’ll only be in Normandy for 1.5 days, so it gets 6 pages. I plan on sticking the small instant photos that I take to it with some pretty washi tape I bought, and then just jotting down impressions and little moments that I want to remember.

I always think that I will remember things. When I’m in the moment, I often say to myself, “I will remember this forever.” But it rarely happens that way. I have always wished that I had a better memory for experiences. I can remember names and faces and I’m pretty amazing at remembering dates (I can tell you the anniversary of the parents of my best friend and probably the wedding anniversary of most of my friends), but I need help remembering the less precise moments of my life. So I keep a journal and I blog. And I’m a little embarrassed to admit how many times I have re-read old journals and scrolled through old blog entries and just remembered.

I will be home soon. I’m writing this exactly one day before I leave, so it’s strange to me to think about coming home already. Right now I have no idea what experiences will fill this travel journal. Even with all of the preparation, it’s impossible to tell. But I look forward to the journey, and I look forward to the memories. And most of all, I look forward to telling you all about it.

One comment

  1. kelliebuelo · October 4, 2012

    such a great idea! i’m terrible at remembering to journal anything but i want to be someone who does!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

