a home of my own — but not this one

Confession: I am an HGTV addict. In fact, my brother was over here tonight and turned on the tv, and said, “Of course, HGTV! It’s always HGTV.” House Hunters, House Hunters International, Love It or List It, Income Property, The Property Brothers… I love it all! Well, I’m not into the Kitchen Cousins and I hate Holmes on Homes, but you get the idea. (And here’s a little trivia about the Property Brothers — Jonathan, the contractor, is also an illusionist. I really want him to bring some illusions to the show – Gob-style.)

I think I love HGTV so much because I’ve never had a home of my own. I’ve had various rooms to call my own, but they’ve always been temporary places full of temporary furniture. While I am sometimes scared to give up my easily packed up lifestyle, I also long to have my own house (or apartment) where I can finally put all of those pinned images to work. Visiting the Parade of Homes last week with Izzy did nothing to calm the fever. One home was particularly lovely, and I’ve been dreaming of it ever since. I hope you’ll indulge me while I share a few photos and maybe you’ll enjoy it too. One caveat upfront: I wasn’t quite sure if photography was allowed and rather than ask, I just snuck photos, so they’re not the best.

Here is the house in question:

Most homes in the Parade of Homes are new construction out in the boondocks, but this one is a beautiful historic home that was gutted and restored in the Holladay area of Salt Lake (so closer to downtown). I just love the color of the brick and the white gingerbread trim (just enough gingerbread, but not too much).

Because I wasn’t sure about the photography situation, I didn’t take any photos of the downstairs, which included two original mantelpieces and several rooms. It also included this kitchen. I snuck a photo when the builder’s back was turned. I love the exposed brick, beamed ceiling, and white cabinets.

At the top of the stairs is an amazing crafting room (or regular office/play area etc.). I just dig all of the cubbies. I could do so much organizing and put so many bins and books in there.

But may favorite thing about the home are the four bedrooms upstairs. Each had its own character and lots of great sloping walls. Check these out:

Sure this one wouldn’t work quite as well for an adult, but it’s the perfectly little girl’s room. Especially when you see this:

Yes, that is a Dutch door into a little play area! I love Dutch doors, especially little ones. Here’s a room an adult could sleep in.

Still so cute with the slopey walls and the big window. I also really like this next room, and I’ll let you guess my favorite feature.

You’re right, I do like that solar system mobile, but my favorite feature is that built-in bench. It is the absolute perfect spot for staring up at the stars and the moon and just daydreaming (er… imagining?) or writing in your journal.

There was a fourth bedroom (also appropriate for an adult), but I didn’t get a picture of it. In addition to the beautiful house, it also happens to have a gorgeous backyard, complete with an upper deck and plenty of room to play red-light-green-light.

They had hung these lanterns in the tree. Wouldn’t you just love to spend a lazy summer night with the lanterns twinkling?

That is, unless you were upstairs watching the sunset from your deck with fancy columns.

And look at the roofline? It’s just too fantastic.

I just need a million dollars for it to be all mine. Yeah, I know. I guess I’ll have to content myself with HGTV for a while. And maybe someday soon, I can have a little place of my own.

3 comments

  1. Kate · August 23, 2012

    I want this house. Now.

  2. Kylie · August 23, 2012

    Omg, I want that house too! Talk about amazing! Wow!

  3. ddLynn · September 11, 2012

    Who can live without HGTV???? Seriously!!!??? I totally adore this house. And what a kitchen..Oooooo, a stone wall…to …die…for!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

