June 1974

One of the hard things when your parents divorce (even when it happened in your mid-twenties, even when it was many years ago) is that it affects your family history. The sweet stories of how your parents met, fell in love, and got married become tinged with a little bitterness. I haven’t always known how to react when I come across wedding pictures or even old family photos. There’s always a little pang. But nine years later, it’s not quite as sharp and I’m even getting to the point where I can accept the sweetness of those early memories without much bitter.

On the way home from a viewing a couple of weeks ago (nothing like a viewing to give life perspective), I asked my mom about where they held their wedding reception. She gave approximate coordinates for the church and we decided to pay it a visit. Since it was a Sunday evening, there were lots of people at the church, which also meant that it was open. My mom had told me that it had stained glass windows, so we went inside looking for them. We couldn’t find any at first. The logical place was in the chapel but it was full of people and mom thought there were a few in the building. We went past several classrooms and the library and came across some kids playing the piano. Mom went in and asked them about the stained glass. They told us it was only in the chapel and that everyone was in there practicing for a musical performance. Since it wasn’t anything too spiritual, we decided to peak in. And there it was:

I wish we could have gotten a better look, but we did go out back where the patio was. My mom pointed out where all the tables were and the reception line.

At the time, these apartment buildings were being constructed.

It was a beautiful spot, and I could just picture that summer evening almost 40 years ago.

The neighborhood has changed since my parents held their reception there so many years ago. It’s a good reminder that everything changes. And that’s ok.

6 comments

  1. Anna · August 21, 2012

    Love this post, Katie.

    • katie · August 22, 2012

      Thanks Anna!

  2. amanda a · August 21, 2012

    thanks for the reminder that change IS ok. layton’s parents are going through a divorce and, even though it’s not my own parents divorcing, i’m filled with confusion, frustration and pain over the whole thing. i’m so sad that a family is now broken up. change is hard, but i’m sure with time, my perspective will change. thanks!

    • katie · August 22, 2012

      Amanda, I’m sorry to hear about Layton’s parents. I understand the confusion, frustration, and pain. It’s such a hard thing to go through, even when you’re an adult and on your own. I’m glad that I can give maybe just a little perspective from a few years down the road.

  3. alison · August 22, 2012

    I love you. Thanks for inspiring me to revisit some of those not-so-bitter-anymore times and places in my mind. I may even write about them. Hope you’re well!

    • katie · August 22, 2012

      Al, I miss you! If you ever want to write about them for a smaller audience, email me!! ❤

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

