Silver Lake

I didn’t have any plans for the afternoon of the fourth and got kind of tired of pretending to clean and organize my house, so I decided to pop by Matt and Izzy’s to see what they were up to. My timing was perfect because they were just about to grab some sandwiches and head up to Silver Lake in Big Cottonwood Canyon. They were happy to have me come along because we could all squeeze into my air-conditioned car. Mikey ended up riding his bullet bike up with us, too. Spontaneous family outing! Only, I didn’t have my camera with me. I thought about stopping by the house to get it, but it was out of the way, so I had to make do with my phone.

We’ve visited Silver Lake a few times. It’s an ideal spot for families because it has an easy boardwalk to follow around a beautiful lake. Apparently, lots of families agree with this assessment because it was quite busy up there. We passed many families with coolers and fishing gear and even canoes.

Other than the mosquitoes, it was absolutely perfect up there. Nice and cool and smelled like Montana. (Mountains always remind me of Montana.) The drive back home through the canyons was smokey from the wildfires, but beautiful.

I’d say it was a pretty great way to celebrate America.

One comment

  1. Amanda · July 10, 2012

    USA! USA! USA! Great pics! I think we’ve taken a picture on that same bench every time we go. Liam looks so much bigger now.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

