Spa (Birth)day

It looks like there are only 8 candles, but I can assure you, there were 9.

Claire turned 9 years old at the beginning of this month. 9! I have a few very clear memories from before the age of 9, but I think most of my memories actually began around the age of 9. It was a big year for me. My granny passed away that year, and it was the first time I had ever come face-to-face with death. (That’s a whole ‘nother post I guess.) We also moved that year to the home I would grow up in. We moved a lot when I was little (I lived in at least 5 houses before I turned 9), but that was the first move that really affected me. But this post is about Claire turning 9 and the awesome party Isabelle threw for her. The theme was, as you may have guessed, a spa day for Claire and 5 of her close friends. Izzy invited me to come along and document it with my camera.

The party started off with a visit to the pool.

The girls splashed around for about an hour while I observed the social dynamics of third graders. It was really quite interesting. And I also wished that I was swimming around. That blue pool looked so inviting! But there was a lot planned that night, so we walked back down the hill to Meme and Papa’s house (Izzy’s parents) for the rest of the night.

The girls created their own salt scrub using some essential oils (it was quite the mixture of smells) and some food coloring. They turned out quite pretty, though.

Matt came by and made some burritos and quesadillas to order.

And the party moved to the balcony where we not only had a beautiful view, but the girls entertained us with their rendition of what I imagine are some current pop songs. I still never know what’s on the radio… and I have to say that I was a little proud that Claire and her best friend Lucy didn’t seem to know the songs either. But the other girls knew all of the lyrics to a few Katy Perry/Rhianna type songs.

Then it was time to guard against the inevitable onslaught of old age with some avocado masks and a nice soak in the hot tub.

The girls practiced their hot-tubbing skills for any future appearances on the Bachelor (I can only hope this actually never happens).

Meanwhile, the only eligible bachelor around was inside playing pool with an older and more sophisticated woman.

Or spending time at the fountain.

Sufficiently relaxed and with their skin firmed and moisturized, it was time for some birthday cake.

Claire opened lots of great presents and then it was time even more pampering. The girls moved out to the balcony again for some mani-pedis. And general silliness.

Lucy has been Claire’s best friend since she was born.

Can you believe they used to look like this?

So cute! I mean, they’re still cute now, but so much older. The girls waited so patiently for their turn. We turned on some Vivaldi to set the atmosphere and just enjoyed the view of the sunset.

And one last photo of the birthday girl.

There was more fun had that night (I hear Murder in the Dark was played and a movie was watched), but I was ready for my own comfy bed, so I called it a night.

(I just got back from an e-learning conference in New York City. I’ll be sharing more about my adventures there all this week. I can’t wait to look at the pictures!)

4 comments

  1. cristen · June 20, 2012

    i love the girls’ swimsuits! so much fun and it reminds me of some i had when i was younger. they need to make them in grown-up sizes.

    • katie · June 21, 2012

      Aren’t they great? I had so many awesome swimsuits when I was little. I miss them.

  2. Sara · June 22, 2012

    Such a great post. And what a cool party.

  3. Sara · June 22, 2012

    I just realized that was the most lame comment ever! But simply put, I like the post and I think the party looked awesome! 🙂 But I forgot to mention how much I love the cake, too. That first picture especially, with the candles? Love it.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

