In Claire’s Eyes

Today Claire turned 9. One of the best things about being back in Salt Lake is all of the time I get to spend with her. I love getting to see her grow up. She’s creative, sweet, and funny. She’s really just the best. The other day I stopped by her house to say hello. We started playing some games outside, and I grabbed my camera (of course). She wanted to take some pictures of me, too, and then we decided to go for a walk around the block, and I let her put my camera around her neck and take some photos. Would you like to see what she saw?

Pretty good, right? I think she’s got quite the eye. I love the one of the golden little flowers and the iris against the chain link fence. I also really like the purple window box on her friend’s playhouse. I remembered on our walk another time that I gave her my camera. I think she’s improved a lot in 5 years.

I was surprised at how difficult it was to give up my camera. I kept begging Claire to give it back for just a few moments so I could also take some pictures. But I just couldn’t pass up this beautiful golden chain tree!

And then these bright poppies against the fence were just so perfect.

What I love so much about photography is how it encourages you to look at things differently. I love how two photographers will look at the same scene and the photographs will turn out completely different. It’s great to be able to share it with Claire. I like seeing the world through her eyes.

3 comments

  1. Amanda · June 3, 2012

    Happy Birthday to Claire. She’s almost semi-professional. Those pictures were lovely.

  2. cristen · June 5, 2012

    i think that claire has some mad skills! i do need to see her self-portrait portfolio, however.

    • katie · June 6, 2012

      We’re still building that one. 🙂

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

