Brigham Young’s Grave

I recently wrote about how I saw the graves of many past prophets at the Salt Lake City Cemetery, but the grave of a significant figure in Utah’s history is not there. Brigham Young is actually buried closer to the city in a small little park. I decided to visit last week just so I could complete the experience. Brigham Young’s grave is located on First Avenue. I haven’t spent much time in the Avenues neighborhood of Salt Lake. (side note: I realized the other day that even though I’ve always claimed Salt Lake City as home, I really have only lived here for a combined two years out of the past twelve. I’m realizing just how much there is to this city that I’m actually not familiar with.) So when I was headed west on First Avenue, I was taken by surprise and a little awed by the spires I saw rising in front of me.

I decided to park further back and enjoy the evening with a little walk. I ended up parking right behind another set of beautiful spires.

These belonged to the Cathedral of the Madelaine.

I also walked past this cute little market.

All the while the temple grew larger in front of me.

Brigham Young’s grave is kind of nestled in between some apartment buildings. You wouldn’t even notice it unless you were looking for it. There’s a more general pioneer memorial in the front, and then the graves of Brigham Young and some wives in a more private area.

There’s a sculpture of Brigham Young reading to some kids.

And there is some beautiful bleeding hearts, snowballs, and little buds that look like transparent pine cones.

And there was the grave.

Did you know that I love lamp posts? I don’t know what it is, but there’s something magical about them. Maybe it’s because of Narnia. Maybe it’s their pale glow. Maybe it’s because they so often incorporate beautiful design. It’s probably all of those combined. I just love them.

After milling about for a bit, I walked back to the car and headed home. Do you ever take photos while driving? Or at least, while stopped at the light? I can’t help it sometimes.

One comment

  1. Kylie · May 18, 2012

    As usual, such beautiful photos! I always loved the temple view from the avenues too.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

