5 years later

Five years ago I graduated with my masters from Purdue, and I’ve kind of been trying to figure out what to do with my life ever since. I’ve lived in a new city and tried out a few career paths. It’s crazy to me to think that while I’ve been floundering (just a little), my dear friend Erica was steadfastly pursuing her PhD. I decided against continuing in academics because I knew that I didn’t have the passion for it. I knew it would take more dedication than I was willing to put forth. But E is chalk full of passion and dedication and smarts. She’s won awards and research grants and served the school and her department. She’s a phenomenal teacher and researcher. And now she’s all doctored up, and I couldn’t be prouder. Also, she totally knows how to smize.

(Photo by noted fashion photographer, Cristen Marek. Stolen from facebook. Hope you don’t mind!)

10 comments

  1. Amanda · May 16, 2012

    CONGRATULATIONS Erica! Smize it up girl! And Cristen can you make me look that good?

    • katie · May 16, 2012

      Um, Mames, I think you are forgetting that you already know how to laugh like a model and smize with the best of them.

  2. Jenn · May 16, 2012

    What?!?!?!?? It’s been FIVE years since we graduated? Where has the time gone? So glad we were there together…

    • katie · May 16, 2012

      Me too!! The time has just flown by.

  3. meredith · May 16, 2012

    congrats erica!!! … and what is smizing??? i better google that… or search your blog, i bet there is a post on it, that i missed!

    • katie · May 16, 2012

      Mere, I can’t believe you are unaware of one of the most important words in the Tyra dictionary? I’m glad google was able to help you!

  4. meredith · May 16, 2012

    ha, got it. smile with your eyes. 😉

  5. cristen · May 16, 2012

    fyi katie, i have another smizing pic of dr. e on my camera that i have to upload. i think she’s still in the running to become america’s next top ph.d.

    • katie · May 16, 2012

      Oh, she has that locked down!

  6. Erica · May 17, 2012

    Awwwwwwwwwww! Katie! I can’t believe you dedicated a post to me! I feel so famous to be in your blog! I love you awful, friend!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

