Picnic in the Park

One Saturday morning a few weeks back, I was trying to figure out how to spend my day when I got a text from Izzy inviting me to join them for a picnic in the park and to feed the little duckies and goslings. It was an invitation I couldn’t refuse. Izzy made some pbj’s and packed up some fruit. We stopped by the gas station for some drinks (and I brought chocolate) and we headed to Liberty Park.

Despite the sunny day, it was actually a little chilly… as Claire kept reminding us.

A brisk walk over to the pond warmed us up. And on the way, we saw Jesus.

I’m not sure what that was all about but there was a small crew of people there filming something. It was actually kind of strange to see Jesus walking around the park.

We found a nice spot in the sun to tempt the duckies and gozzies with some bread.

A little family took the bait and we ooh’d and aah’d and squee’d a little over the fuzzy little things.

As always, there was a flock of seagulls hovering over the lake. There were also a few stray canoes and paddle boats out and about. I thought it clever of the boy in the canoe to wear a rain coat to, I assume, protect against any seagull droppings.

Aww… these kids. I just love them!

Claire wanted to see if the rides were running yet, so we headed toward the mini amusement park by the aviary and came across the eagle fountain.

Liam decided it was the perfect place to go around and around and around and around.

I liked all the little petals floating about in the water.

Some skaters were doing tricks on the steps next to the fountain, but they kept losing their skateboards. Every time one of their tricks went wrong, Liam just laughed and laughed.

After about the one-hundredth time around the fountain, it was time to move on. Liam was not pleased.

At first it didn’t seem like the rides were open yet, so we decided to move on. Of course Claire noticed that they actually were, but by this time, Liam was getting tired (almost nap time) and it was just time to go home. We couldn’t lt Claire’s sad eyes persuade us otherwise. We just promised that we’d go back another time.

We noticed some sort of fair going on when we first arrived at the park. We had to cross through it to get back to the car. Apparently, it was the Psychic Phair (or something), and it was quite the interesting event. Traditionally there’s a drum circle at Liberty Park every weekend. This was as if the drum circle had organized into a big event.

I had no idea hula hooping had become a thing. Did you know about this? I saw them all over the place there, and there was a big booth selling them.

There were some women there doing hula dancing with the hoops. It was pretty amazing.

I guess I need to start practicing for next year.

4 comments

  1. Kristy Campbell Jackson · May 14, 2012

    I just love Liberty park. Cool that you saw Jesus, and I’m pleased to see hula hoops are making a come back… I’ve always loved those things.

    • katie · May 14, 2012

      Oh, I could never do the hula hoop! I always felt like such a failure. 🙂

  2. Kelly · May 14, 2012

    I watched a documentary once about a guy in Utah who paints pictures of Jesus but he needs models to paint so he is always going to the homeless shelter because he needs bearded men and most men in Utah just don’t have facial hair. Anyway, I thought of that when I saw your Jesus picture.

    • katie · May 14, 2012

      I saw an episode of This American Life about him, too. It was really interesting.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

