Special Announcement!

About two weeks ago, I realized that I was coming up on two important blog milestones.

1) On April 30th, I will celebrate my 8 year blogiversary! EIGHT YEARS!

2) I was about to hit 1000 blog posts! ONE THOUSAND BLOG POSTS!

I know what you’re thinking… Katie, I’ve spent a lot of time going through the archives of this blog, and there’s no way there is almost 1000 blog posts here. And you would be right. I am combining the posts on this blog (currently 341) with the posts on my previous blog Carbon Copy (which topped off at 654). These two blogs have chronicled my life since April of 2004.

In honor of these upcoming milestones, I thought I’d share a few ways that people come across Sharp & Keen in their Internet surfing.

Top Ten Search Terms

1. Kathe Kollwitz. Alternative search terms looking for the same thing: Kollwitz, Kathe Kollwitz drawings, Kathe (with an umlaut) Kollwitz, katie kollwitz, kathe kollwitz art, kollwitz artwork… and I could actually go on listing things. If I had known Kathe Kollwitz was going to be such a big draw, I would have spent more time researching and tried to get better pictures.

2. Banksy. Yeah, I mentioned Banksy once, but somehow it’s the second most popular search term. I really regret leaving New Orleans without going on the Banksy Does New Orleans tour.

3. Gone with the Wind. It pleases me so much that people find my blog while searching for Gone with the Wind. After all, it is one of my very favorite books. I have blogged about it a few times, and I am still pretty proud of my photoshop skills placing Scarlett O’Hara in Nottoway Plantation.

4. New Orleans Saints Pictures. I can only imagine how disappointed people are when they come across that entry about the Saints. (Also, I’m embarrassed that I didn’t credit the image source.) But maybe they saw the blog post about the Saints Super Bowl Victory Parade or Penny Lane wearing a Saints hat, and they smiled because those kids are so adorable.

5. Purdue Pete. I love that people are searching for information about Purdue Pete. He’s so dreamy!

6. Prehistoric Shark. Who doesn’t want to find out about prehistoric sharks? They are terrifying!

7. Logansport, Indiana. Honestly, it kind of surprises me that anyone is searching for Logansport, Indiana (and some bonus searches for Logansport landmark, Mr. Happy Burger). But I’m glad they do because I really like that blog post.

8. 1940s room. A random photo in a blog entry about Pensacola Beach. I guess lots of people are interested in rooms from the 1940s. I can’t blame them, though… that kitchen is pretty great.

9. Spiral Jetty. The Spiral Jetty is still one of the most awesome places I have been to. I wish it was more convenient to access because I would kind of like to go every weekend.

10. Painted Nails. Yeah, this is another entry where people probably didn’t find what they were looking for.

I really wanted to celebrate and do something special for this milestone. It’s not every day that you write your 1000th blog post. And I wanted it to be a good one. So I have 3 give-aways planned for this week. That’s right! THREE GIVE-AWAYS!! I’ll be posting them on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, and then on Monday the 30th (my blogiversary and 1000th post), I’ll announce the winners. So make sure to check back so we can all party together.

11 comments

  1. Naomi · April 23, 2012

    I think it’s only fair that if you blog stalk me that I blog stalk you.

    • katie · April 23, 2012

      Totally fair! (And I’d be honored.)

  2. kylie · April 23, 2012

    So excited for this! And congrats on your Blogiversary! I’m so glad this blog is going strong. 🙂

    • katie · April 23, 2012

      Thanks Kylie! It never would have even gotten started if it wasn’t for you. 🙂

  3. Erica · April 23, 2012

    I love seeing your old blog posts! This entry caused a 45 minute perusal of S&K and CC archives haha! And I love that I was there for two of the top searched items! The post about Logansport is still so cute.

    • katie · April 23, 2012

      I wish you were here for more adventures!

      • kelliebuelo · April 23, 2012

        Holy moly, happy blogiversary to you! I can’t believe you’ve written that many posts. They are all so thoughtful, too. So funny looking at the search terms that bring people to you. I get things like “zombies” and “Sarah Jessica Parker.”

        You’re a great blogger! I really am tempted to stay up to late and go back at re-read some old stuff on here but I better save it for another time. Seriously when are you going to get your own domain so I can read from work – ha! I kid. Kind of.

  4. kelliebuelo · April 23, 2012

    PS: I don’t really know what I did to reply to your reply. Curious!

    • katie · April 24, 2012

      haha… I have no clue either. But I’m glad you did. And thanks! I really think you could write more about zombies and Sarah Jessica Parker on your blog, though. I’d like to see a whole series. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Give-Away #1 |
  6. sarabaldwin · April 24, 2012

    I’m so glad I discovered your blog – it’s definitely one of my favorites. Happy 8 years! Here’s to 8+ more!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

