Catch Your Self

I recently started reading the blog of my friend Kristy’s friend, Sarah. Did you catch that? In other words, Kristy is my friend, and Sarah is Kristy’s friend, and now I have Sarah’s blog in the Stalking folder of my Google Reader (but Kristy is in my Friend folder because she’s a real life friend). Sarah, like Kristy, is an ex-pat living in Oxford, so her blog is full of fun English adventures that make me a little lot jealous. Of course, it helps that she has a knack for storytelling and a way with the camera. She has been taking self-portraits as a way to make sure she has photos of herself and recently started a link-up where we can all play along. (These link-ups are new to me, but I love them because it’s a great way to find out about awesome blogs. One thing that I love about the Internet is how one blog leads to another and that leads to another and so on.)

Since I’m usually behind the camera, too, I decided to give it a try. I attempted to take a self-timer picture of my afternoon activity (which is folding laundry – exciting!!) but my autofocus just would not cooperate. Apparently, my camera thought it was boring. Then my sis called to talk paint colors. While we were chatting, I noticed my reflection in the mirror on my desk and decided to use that instead. So here I am doing one of my favorite things – chatting with my sister.

Of course, I had to take a few shots before I got one that actually had me in focus and showed a majority of my face. Here’s a bonus out-take showing one of my favorite framed photos – my grandpa and granny, so young and in love.

If you’re interested, head on over to Sarah’s blog and check out some of the other self-portraits.

revisedbadge_edited-2
9 comments

  1. Karen H · March 23, 2012

    I too have crossed over to follow a friend of a friend. Just love Kristy & Sarah and you too. Thanks for your daily photos too. I am trying to do just that but find it works best for me to do it on FB.

    • katie · March 23, 2012

      Thanks Karen! I just noticed that you have a blog, too. I’ll definitely have to start following it.

  2. Kristy Campbell Jackson · March 23, 2012

    Miss Kate, I love to see that pretty face of yours dear friend. Miss you so much! xoxo

    I’m loving the new layout of your blog. The birds are my favorite. I love when I scroll through your page using the mouse wheel they look like they are flapping their wings and flying!

    • katie · March 23, 2012

      Thanks Miss Kris! You are very missed, too!

      I was so excited about the birds. I painted them in Photoshop. I know it’s silly, but I’m totally proud of them. I’m glad that you enjoy them, too!

      • Amanda · March 23, 2012

        You painted these in photo shop?! You are amazing! I loooove them!

  3. greatscott3 · March 23, 2012

    Hi there Kate! So happy to be a friend of your friend and that our connection has led us to each other. 🙂

    Love that you were going to use a photo of yourself doing the laundry – I love the repetitive, mindless task of folding but HATE putting it all away. But love even more that the photo you chose was of you chatting with your sis about paint chips. Ahhh, I love, LOVE painting and Jake despises it. The words “paint chips” strike as much fear in his heart as it does excitement in mine!

    Thanks for linking up and I look forward to seeing you next week…

    PS: I agree with Kris – I love the layout of your blog!!!

    • katie · March 23, 2012

      Sarah, I too love folding laundry but hate putting it away. In fact, I’m embarrassed to admit how many times I shuffle my laundry from my bed to my floor (when it’s bedtime) and back again before it gets put away. There’s usually a huge pile of them in the corner of my room. It’s been that way since I was little. Kris probably remembers from our roommate days. Putting the clothes away is my housekeeping kryptonite. 🙂

  4. Ariana {And Here We Are...} · March 24, 2012

    Hi Katie Elaine, thanks for stopping by my blog! I wanted to tell you how much I LOVE the little picture you have of your grandparents. It is so sweet, and the photo says so much. I know that if I came across it in an antique store or little shop, I would have to buy it, even thought I don’t know them. Thank you for sharing!

    • katie · March 25, 2012

      Thanks Ariana! It really is sweet, huh? 🙂

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

