Manti, UT

All the way back in September, my mom and I went to Manti. We wanted to go to the temple there, and I wanted to explore the town a little. I hadn’t been there since I went to the Manti Pageant back in my early teens. Mid-September was a perfect time to visit. We have to drive through Spanish Fork Canyon to get there, and the leaves were just changing. Let’s look at a map:

It takes just over 2 hours to get to Manti, and you pass through a few other small towns on the way, such as Mount Pleasant and Ephraim. I wanted to explore them, too, but we wanted to make it to Manti in time to attend a session at the temple, so we zipped through them with the hope of seeing more on our way back home.

The Manti Temple is the first thing you see when coming into town. It was completed in 1888 and looks like a castle. It’s similar in style to the Logan Temple, which was my temple during my Utah State years. Here’s the north entrance to the temple.

Here’s a view of the temple from the south at the foot of the hill.

(You might recognize the picture from the straightening tutorial I made a couple of weeks ago. You would never have thought it was so crooked straight out of the camera, huh?)

My favorite thing about the Manti Temple, though, is that it features murals from one of my favorite painters, Minerva Teichert. Viewing her paintings during the session helped me to view the ceremony in a new way. I really loved it.

After we finished at the temple, I wanted to look around Manti a little. Since my mom was with me, we just drove around, and I snuck some photos from the obscurity of my car. (I really need to get over being self-conscious about taking photos out in public. That’s number one on my goals to becoming better at life.) Here are a few snapshots.

We drove around Ephraim just a little bit. I wanted to check out Snow College because I love campuses. There wasn’t too much to see (since we didn’t get out of the car), but it looks cute.

And Ephraim as a town looks really cute, too. I’d like to spend more time exploring.

We didn’t look around in Mount Pleasant — by this time, we were just ready to head home and get some dinner — but I couldn’t resist the drive-in theater and classic Welcome To sign.

On our way out of town, I had to pull over and take a few photos of the surrounding landscape. It was absolutely gorgeous.

I’d really like to head that direction again and do some more exploring. I feel like I didn’t get to see very much. Luckily it looks like we might have an early spring (hooray!) so I’m hoping to commence these little day trips again soon. If only we had more days in our weekends.

5 comments

  1. BEFore · March 14, 2012

    Hope you enjoyed my growing-up hometown. 🙂 (Ephraim)

    • katie · March 14, 2012

      I did! And I thought of you because I remembered it was your home town. I was wishing you could tell me all the cool places while I was there.

  2. Kristy Campbell Jackson · March 17, 2012

    Oh gosh I love Manti & Ephraim… brings back some good memories of the first place I lived independently of my parents.

  3. english · March 24, 2012

    waves of nostalgia. and turkey smell. thanks for this.

  4. Pingback: Church History Museum |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

