Tutorial: Straightening an Image with the Ruler Tool

I have another short Photoshop tutorial for y’all. Remember last time, I showed you how to use Content-Aware Fill in Photoshop. Have you had a chance to try it? It really is awesome. This tutorial covers something so simple that I can’t believe I didn’t know about it before.

I have this habit of always taking crooked photos (and it doesn’t help that I take a lot of photos while driving). To straighten them, I used to play around with rotating the image… 1.5 degrees counter-clockwise here or 2 degrees clockwise there. And then I would use the trick of holding SHIFT while drawing a line with a brush (to makes a straight line) and check to see if the photo was straight. It was a huge pain and it wasn’t always very accurate either.

And then I learned about the Ruler Tool. And seriously, it made everything so much easier. So I hope you will take about 5 minutes to watch this tutorial. Like the other one, it is interactive and gives you an opportunity to try using the Ruler Tool, too. And there’s even a bonus tip about cropping in there. Just click the image below to open the tutorial in a different tab.

Enjoy!

2 comments

  1. kylie · February 29, 2012

    Kate, that was great! And you taught me something! I’m excited to try it out sometime. 😉

    • katie · February 29, 2012

      Thanks! Yeah, let me know what you think when you try it. It’s seriously so easy. It’s such a little thing, but it has helped me out a lot!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

