snack time

A lot of kids don’t like brussels sprouts when they’re growing up. I never even had to try them. I can’t remember one time they were on our table. It wasn’t until this last Thanksgiving when the family we had dinner with served them up that I gave them a try. And turns out, they were totally delicious! We roasted them a few times over the holidays, and I picked up a package at Costco the other day. I decided to make them tonight, and while I was preparing the brussels sprouts to be roasted, I couldn’t help but notice how pretty they are. Just in case you have never had roasted brussels sprouts, I’ll tell you how I make them so you can give them a try some day.

First, rinse them well. Then chop off the ends and get rid of any loose or yellowed leaves.

I like to cut the big ones in half and leave the smaller ones whole. When I’m done chopping them up, I put them in a big silver bowl.

Drizzle a tablespoon or so of olive oil over the brussels sprouts and mix it all around until it’s covered. Then add some pepper and salt and some chopped garlic and stir it all up. Spread it out on a baking sheet.

With the oven preheated to 400, just stick the brussel sprouts in and let them roast for 35-40 minutes. Take them out and they are all nice and crispy and delicious.

You can eat them all alone or add them to another dish. Tonight, I stirred it in with some couscous and chickpeas.

5 comments

  1. krisgal · February 16, 2012

    Yummy! You can’t live in England and get away with not having brussel sprouts on your plate at some point. I swear it’s like the national vegetable over here. Miles doesn’t like them, but I love them. I usually steam them and eat them with lots of butter and s&p. I’ve never heard of them roasted, but gosh that sounds delicious. I’m going to try this for sure, and then maybe even Miles will like them.

    • katie · February 16, 2012

      mmm.. lots of butter and salt and pepper sounds delish. I’ll have to give that a try next time. Let me know what you think f you end up roasting them some time.

  2. Taryn · February 17, 2012

    We always had them growing up and my siblings and I would fight over them!!! But I have never had them roasted, always steamed. Yours look yummy. I might have to try it!

  3. kelliebuelo · February 29, 2012

    I love Brussels sprouts! Literally I crave them sometimes! I roast mine with Balsamic vinegar and olive oil and pepper. Seriously, try the vinegar next time, it will change your life! 😉

    • katie · February 29, 2012

      Ooooh, I love vinegar. I’ll have to try it.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

