Pulled Over

Whenever I’m zipping around on the freeway, I always wish that I could just pause for a minute and take some photos. Seriously, the freeway has the best view of the city, of the mountains, and of the valley. But unfortunately, there’s not a lot of pausing on the freeway. Until last night.

I was leaving Smith’s Marketplace on 33rd South and 30th East (I was on the hunt for Lego Figurines and heard they had some. They didn’t.) and decided at the last minute to turn left and go on 215 and check out the other Smith’s downtown. The traffic was clear, so I pulled out. And then realized there is an island in the middle of the lane. Not a big one. Just a small one, but by the time I noticed it was there, I was in the middle of the road. I just kept going. As I was turning left to get on the freeway, I saw the blue and red lights flashing behind me. Oops. I pulled over on the freeway ramp and explained to the officer. He took my license and went to run it. (I know all about these things now because I write the manuals on how to do it.) And meanwhile, I got my wish. I got to check out the view from the freeway. And I happened to have my camera, so I took advantage.

And my luck stuck because I just got a warning.

7 comments

  1. Sara · February 5, 2012

    Ouch! Sucks about being pulled over, but totally awesome you didn’t get a ticket.
    And gorgeous photo.

  2. kelliebuelo · February 5, 2012

    I love that that’s what you were thinking about while you were sitting there waiting. Awesome photo, though. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: This Past Week «
  4. greatscott3 · March 1, 2012

    I agree with the above commenter – awesome that you thought to take a photo during an otherwise yucky situation. glad you emerged ticket free – and with an amazing photo. those colors are gorgeous!

    • katie · March 1, 2012

      Thanks Sarah! It really did all work out amazingly well. πŸ™‚

  5. Herding Cats · March 2, 2012

    Stunning picture

  6. krisgal · March 2, 2012

    Kate my darling!! You kill me! Love this story!

    And yes, very pretty pretty photo. Thank you for sharing over on my blog friend.
    xoxo

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

