Eureka: A Ghost Town

Gather round and I’ll tell you the tale of a town named Eureka. The tale can be told briefly (because I don’t know much). Eureka (once known by the lovely and very L.M. Montgomery-esque name of Ruby Hollow) was a bustling mining town in 1892. It’s also the birth place of Frank Zamboni. I saw a Zamboni once at a hockey game. AND it was the home of the second ever JC Penney store. But now, in 2011 (when these pictures were taken), its bustling ways are over. It’s just a small town with a lot of abandoned buildings and a beautiful location.

On Memorial Day 2011, we explored Eureka. Here’s what we found.

We peeked inside the windows of some stores.

Here’s a look inside the historic bank.

There’s an old cafe and a junk shop.

Wouldn’t you like to go exploring in there? Just imagine all the interesting things you could find.

If you visit Eureka, you can go inside the cabin of Porter “The Destroying Angel of Mormondom” Rockwell. But watch out for the bear.

On our way out of town, we drove past a cemetery. I had to make a U-turn to check it out.

Before my visit to Eureka, I had never been in that part of Utah. It was absolutely beautiful. (I can’t wait for Utah to be green again.) We were lucky that day because we finished our visit just before a huge rainstorm came through. When we got out for dinner in Tooele, we got soaked running from the car to the restaurant (Ok, it was a Denny’s).

Here’s a panoramic photo. The blog will make it look small, but you can click it to get the full effect.

I keep thinking I might want to drive that route again. Maybe in the spring.

p.s. It’s not really accurate to call Eureka a ghost town because it does have an active community. I think it happened to be very slow that day because it was Memorial Day, so it felt more abandoned than it is.

4 comments

  1. Happy Homemaker UK · February 3, 2012

    Some of those building look historical – I hope they keep some of them. Looks like the perfect setting for a wild west movie!

    Ahh, Denny’s – now that sounds delicious right now. What I wouldn’t do for some biscuits and gravy right now!!

  2. Mikey_Doodle. · February 3, 2012

    I used to drive through it all the time on my way to Delta, UT. It really is that abandoned always. 🙂

  3. Amanda · February 3, 2012

    The views were beautiful. I love Utah. Her landscape is breathtaking.

  4. Sara · February 5, 2012

    “I saw a Zamboni once at a hockey game.” Made me laugh!

    Never been to Eureka, but based on your beautifully photographed tour, I’m thinking I need to go. I should take Dick to see Porter Rockwell’s cabin – he has a fascination with the guy.

    And I agree – Utah is so pretty, especially with overcast skies. Spring and summer rainstorms are my favorite.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

