a photo a day

I decided to post a photo a day, starting on my birthday back in November. It’s been almost 2 months, and I haven’t missed a day yet. I know I mentioned it back then, but I kind of slipped it into another post, so I thought I would mention it again for anyone who is interested in following along. You can find them over at my sloppy heart.

My original intention was to post my very best photo. My friend Kristy posts her daily photos once a week and they are always so beautiful (check out her latest batch). But that just wasn’t practical for me. For one thing, I didn’t always have my nice camera with me. For another, I don’t live in England where everything is picture perfect. (Of course, props have to go to the photographer, not the setting. Not everyone would make a trashed umbrella look so beautiful.) I decided it would be easier to take a picture with my phone (where I can post it too without having to download it, which is my real drawback). And I would try to take a picture of something memorable or significant, something that would define the day. It’s not always easy to pick something because most days run together, but doing the daily photo helps to distinguish them just a little.

I thought I would share a few of my favorite photos from the past two months, in no particular order.

4 comments

  1. krisgal · January 13, 2012

    Kate, I LOVE your iphone photo-a-day! (The top two are my favs!) I’m envious that I don’t do mine this way and can just upload them directly to my blog on the very day it was taken. Plus, I love the grainy, candid, desaturated look that you can only get from a cell phone photo. And I feel like it captures more accurately the normal and mundane that daily life really is. I feel like my photos always look a little too planned.

  2. Amanda · January 13, 2012

    i love lucy’s curvey swagger:)

  3. Sara · February 5, 2012

    Love this idea – doing series like these, and seeing them through, makes me feel accomplished.

    Just please don’t stop using your “real” camera! You take such gorgeous photos, and while I see the charm to phone pictures as krisgal mentioned in the comment above, I hate to see photographers these days resort to only taking pictures with their iPhones.

    (Sorry if that was obnoxious!)

    • katie · February 5, 2012

      I was so sad to discover that I only took pictures with my canon on four days in January! I decided that I must do better in February, but I haven’t figured out how yet. I wish it were easier to carry about as a daily camera.

      And Sara, I have to say that following your photo project was one of my inspirations to try it. I just loved following along with your daily life. And you’re lucky that you have such an adorable subject. 🙂

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

