Utah State Capitol

After packing away all the Christmas decorations and doing some cleaning and organizing all Saturday morning, I decided to get out of the house in the afternoon. For some reason, I decided to visit the Utah State Capitol. First I drove up and around it (kind of on accident) and stumbled on this view of the valley.

The capitol sits up on a hill overlooking the city. Here’s Main Street from the capitol.

When I was little, I always thought our capitol building was the United States Capitol. It looks pretty similar, I think.

Just smaller. They renovated the capitol a few years ago. I remember visiting it when it opened up to the public again. They planted a path of cherry trees. I was hoping they’d be bigger by now, but they’re still young.

I don’t remember, however, these beehive sculptures. I like them.

I am so used to our government buildings designed in Classical architecture. It’s confusing to me when they don’t have domes and columns.

There’s a little side street near the capitol with this view. I love the cathedral spires.

I wasn’t quite ready to call it a night, so I decided to stop by City Creek Park at the foothills of the capitol. It was still dressed in its holiday finery.

On my way to the grocery store, I took West Temple. At the stop light, I snapped this picture of the Assembly Hall in the evening light. It’s always been one of my favorite buildings.

4 comments

  1. Amanda · January 10, 2012

    Utah is so beautiful in the snow. You should visit Ensign Peak next snow fall and take some photos. You can drive up and take a short, short walk up to the top. Love Salt Lake City!

  2. krisgal · January 13, 2012

    Kate, these photos are AMAZING! Do you mind if I share a few on my blog?

    xo

    • katie · January 13, 2012

      I would be flattered! Thanks friend!

  3. krisgal · January 31, 2012

    Thanks sweetie for sharing your pretty photo on my linky party.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

