The Dinosaur Museum

Amanda invited me to visit the Dinosaur Museum at Thanksgiving Point with her and the Nicholases on Monday. When I was a rhetoric associate for an anthropology class up at Utah State, I read a paper about the Dinosaur Museum. It’s kind of amazing to me that I still remember it after six or seven years. So I wasn’t too surprised that the first room at the dinosaur museum is dedicated to physics experiments. Mike commented that it was as if they gathered all the attention-getting experiments from the first day of a Physics class before they bore them with the math. He can say stuff like that because he’s a math professor. But for someone like me who only took astronomy (and basically wrote sappy poetry about planets and stars the whole time), it was pretty fun to see science in action. And the kids liked it, too.

Then you walk through a room of tiny stars. I couldn’t get a good picture but I would like to have a room like that in my house some day. Just starry. Finally you get to start seeing dinosaur stuff.

Along with ancient sea creatures…

and flora. I loved the flora. It was so pretty and delicate.

Finally we got to the Jurassic period with all the huge dinosaurs. Has anyone ever used the word dinormous before? Can I claim that? Well, these dinosaurs were dinormous! (ok, so it’s kind of a terrible word.)

At the end of the museum, there’s a quarry where the kids can excavate their own dino bones while the parents watch on. These kids really like to dig.

The paper I read for that anthropology course (an Intro to Museum Studies class) had to evaluate the museum. I remember the student gave it pretty high marks, and I have to agree. For a science museum, that is.*

*Just kidding. Science is awesome.

4 comments

  1. Mere · January 6, 2012

    I want to go there!

  2. Amanda · January 6, 2012

    katie those pictures were fabulous! I love the “love bird” picture. I’m so glad you were able to come along, for a number of reasons:) Love you!

  3. Sara · February 5, 2012

    Your sister and her family are adorable. That’s all. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Mobile Monday 37 «

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

