Tutorial: Using Content-Aware Fill in Photoshop

As many of you know, I work as a technical writer by day. One of my main focuses has been eLearning, and I create a lot of software tutorials. It’s what I enjoy most about technical writing, and I recently decided to start creating some tutorials for this old blog. Now, I’m not a professional photographer or a Photoshop expert (and not all tutorials that I create will be about Photoshop or photography), but I do use Photoshop just about every day, and I’m always trying to learn how to use it better. I thought I’d share with you some of the things I learn along the way.

First up, I created a short tutorial using one of my new favorite features – content-aware fill. Take a look at the before & after.

A few weeks ago, I went to visit a friend who lives up by the Capitol. On my way home, I couldn’t resist taking a photo of it all lit up at night. Much to my dismay, when I opened it in Photoshop, I noticed all those green spots. Can you see them? They kind of ruin the photo, so I wanted to remove them. (And if someone can tell me how to avoid getting them in the first place, I’d be very happy.) You’ll see in the tutorial that using content-aware fill is super, super easy. It would also work really well if you need to fill in grass (after cropping) or if you want to remove telephone wires from the sky.

Click the image below to open a new window with the tutorial. (It’s too large to embed here on the blog.) There’s an interactive part of the tutorial, too, where you get to try your hand at fixing some of those unsightly spots.

3 comments

  1. kylie · November 3, 2011

    That was awesome Katie! I totally learned stuff! 🙂

  2. Amanda · November 4, 2011

    Well you know I’m the least computer savvy person there is. This was easy peasy! Thanks Katie! You wrote the directions so it was very clear. I didn’t feel dumb, not once:) If I ever get photo shop (Christmas is coming hint hint) then I know I could use it. Having it hands on like that helps and all your encouraging comments during the tutorial do too:) It was fun. I look forward to more.

  3. Pingback: Tutorial: Straightening an Image with the Ruler Tool «

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

