recent projects

I thought I’d share some recent projects that have been keeping me away from the Internet. First up, some embroidery. My sister had this huge book from the 70s with tutorials on how to embroidery. I decided last Christmas to give it a try and ended up making a few Christmas presents for family and friends. But after spending hours and hours at Christmas time, I needed a break. Until, that is, I saw a cute pattern on pinterest and wanted to break out my hoop and embroidery floss again. This time, I made a girl for all seasons (using some patterns that I purchased from sarah jane studios). I was really pleased with how they turned out.

Here’s a closer look. (Sorry about the poor lighting…)

These were pretty quick patterns. Each one probably took around 5-6 hours to complete. I really want to do an old-fashioned sampler next time so I can try some different stitches.

My mom was out of town for a few weeks, and I wanted to have a fun surprise waiting for her when she got back. She had talked many times about putting a gallery wall of photos of the grandkids up in our entry way. There’s been one random picture frame with photos of Claire’s first birthday hanging up for a few years, but it seems like we never got around to hanging any others. I wanted to complete it for her, so as soon as I dropped her off at the airport, I drove to ikea and picked out a handful of various frames. My mom had talked about how on the Nate Berkus Show (she loves that show), he always takes different style frames and spray paints them the same color to give a unified look. I didn’t want to mess around with spray paint, but I wanted to give my mom the unified look she liked, so I decided to go with all white since the one frame already hanging on the wall was white. I found most of the frames at ikea, but I also picked up one at Michael’s. Then I sketched out how I wanted it to look. The hardest part was actually deciding on which photos to include. I spent two evening poring through old files trying to decide. Then I realized that I could always switch them out later, so I just picked some. I ordered the photos and then waited for them to arrive.

They finally showed up a week later and I immediately began working on the wall. It was actually a really simple gallery wall because I was only adding five more frames of approximately the same size. My friend, Kellie, had written a blog post last month explaining her process for creating her own gallery wall, and it seemed like a good method. I didn’t have to trace the frames, though. The ad paper I used was so thin that I could basically just tear the sheet where I needed it, and then I marked where the nails would go. I taped each pattern to the wall and made whatever slight adjustments I needed.

Then I hammered in the nail right over the paper. Since I had marked where the nails were supposed to go, it was really easy.

About half way through I realized that I would need to move the last two frames over just a little bit, so I retaped them where I wanted them and used a leveler to make sure everything was straight. Then I tapped in the last few nails and voila! Gallery wall.

The only annoying thing is that I didn’t realize until all of the frames were hung that the original frame is actually off white. Oh well… it’s in the same color family, right? It was really fun to see how excited my mom was when she came home the other day and found her surprise. And the whole project only took a few hours to complete.

5 comments

  1. Nan · September 13, 2011

    That embroidery is beautiful and fun!!! I love it.

  2. kylie · September 14, 2011

    Bravo on all fronts! I loooove that embroidery. It turned out fabulous! I’m so glad your mom liked the wall too. 🙂

  3. Amanda · September 15, 2011

    k8s I promise to be really surprised when you give me the set for Christmas. I just can’t wait to get it. I know just where to put it. You’re so nice to do it for me. Thank you, thank you! I’ll think of you every time I look up at them. The girls will love them. Really you’re so thoughtful. Oh I can’t wait until Christmas:)

  4. kimmie · October 5, 2011

    I love the idea of using newspaper to plan how to organize a photo collage! I’ll totally have to do that with all the pictures we have yet to hang! What a lucky girl Claire is to have her, no doubt, favorite auntie take her out on adventures!

  5. sarabaldwin · October 26, 2011

    OK, so I read this when you first posted it and meant to comment then but haven’t gotten around to doing so until now. The timing of you posting this was crazy because I had JUST started searching for the perfect embroidery project to start working on. I found some cross-stich ideas to work on instead, but I was (and am) so excited to find these… I hadn’t seen them before, but now I must copy you and make some of my own. So cute. And good job. I’m afraid mine will suck.

    Also, you inspire me to be a better daughter to my mom. Reading this made me realize I haven’t done anything special for her in a long time. Duh, me. So, thank you.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

