balloons

Every once in a while, I think, “Hey, maybe I could be a children’s photographer!” I practice enough on my nieces and nephews, as this blog abundantly shows. But I have been humbled. I spent a morning pretending to be a professional photographer with Amanda and the kids using some balloons and Memory Grove as the backdrop. It was so much harder than I anticipated. I wasn’t sure how to direct the kids (who were not always the most cooperative), and I had no clue how to adjust my settings for the lighting. No matter what I tried, I kept getting lots of deep shadows. And when I tried putting the kids in the shade, it just felt dull and flat. So if I am ever going to be a children’s photographer (and hey, maybe it could still happen), I have a lot to learn. Too bad more than half of my models live in Wisconsin now. Anyway, here are a few photos that I liked from our morning.

Amanda wasn’t planning on being in any of the photos, but while she was untying the balloons from Lucy’s wrist, Peter and Penny started chasing each other around her and eventually just gave her a big hug. It is one of my favorites.

And of course, we couldn’t quite hold onto the balloons.

3 comments

  1. sarabaldwin · August 8, 2011

    The pictures turned out cute. I especially love the one with your sister. I know what you mean, though… Kids are hard to capture. If you ever want to add another model to your clan, you’re more than welcome to use my son Henry! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2011 in Review «
  3. Pingback: location scout |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

