Brigham City and Cache Valley

You might remember from a recent Mobile Monday post that my mom and I met up with Mike, Amanda, and the kids in Logan on their way back from Idaho. We were running ahead of time, so when we passed through Brigham City and saw the new temple being constructed, we thought we’d take a little side trip and check it out. From the highway, it looks very far along, and I had just read a friend’s blog post about taking her kids to view the placing of the Angel Moroni. I assumed that would be one of the final tasks at the completion of the temple, so I was a little surprised to see that while the exterior is far along, it doesn’t look like any of the interior has been completed. Still, it’s a beautiful temple.

Right across the street is the Box Elder Tabernacle, which was open for tours, so we decided to peak inside for a bit.

We still had some extra time, so my mom and I went grave-finding in Hyde Park. We came across the grave for my great-great-grandparents. I found out from one of my cousins later that night that my great-great-grandpa carved the spiral staircase for the Logan Temple. Hey, my ancestors were pioneers! I always forget about that. I feel like I don’t know any pioneer stories about my family. For some reason, despite loving stories and the past, I have never taken an interest in pioneer stories. I really don’t know why. It seems like I would. Anyway, we finally met up with the Nicholases at a nearby park to have a picnic dinner before heading up to the farm. As soon as we parked, Penny Lane and Peter ran for the tractor.

I didn’t end up taking very many pictures during the visit because I was too busy visiting, but I had to pull out the camera for just a few shots. I couldn’t pass up the golden fields at the edge of my aunt’s yard. In fact, I’m a little disappointed that I failed to capture how golden it was.

And here’s the view from their deck.

It was such a perfect summer night. It was even worth the 40 mosquito bites I got on my feet that only itched when I was falling asleep.

3 comments

  1. amy stanger · July 30, 2011

    Awesome pictures! Wow, the Brigham City tabernacle is just as beautiful in the inside as the outside. I love it. Next time come see me! 🙂

  2. kylie · August 1, 2011

    Gorgeous! That farm is so cool.

  3. Pingback: 2011 in Review «

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

