Mobile Monday 24

We had lots of beautiful days this week. The trees on Matt and Izzy’s street are greening up and there are some late tulips out front.

I found two items of note while out running errands.

I had to smile when I came across Dr. Quinn and Sully at Costco. I used to watch that show every day after school my senior year of high school. And notice those converse with rainbow shoelaces? I just want to say that I totally rocked that look in high school and when I first went to Smith. I was so naive then. I had no idea what mixed signals I might be sending.

On Thursday night, I took my mom to the ER. Everything is fine now, but it was a really long night.

She had to stay in the hospital for a few days to make sure she didn’t get dehydrated. We fit a lot of visitors in that tiny room.

Isabelle told me about this app that a friend had called Film Director, so we made the kids entertain us at the hospital.

(That first one was supposed to have old timey music, too.)

I love all the colors of veggies as I chop them up, but I’m not getting any better at chopping. In fact, I sliced my thumb a little this evening.

It was really windy on Sunday and it made the curtains at church and in my house flutter.

I have to admit that I got caught up thinking about the curtains in Sunday School and just how much I love a breeze through the window. And I kept thinking about this quote from The Great Gatsby:

A breeze blew through the room, blew curtains in at one end and out the other like pale flags, twisting them up toward the frosted wedding cake of the ceiling–and then rippled over the wine-colored rug, making a shadow on it as wind does on the sea.

The only completely stationary object in the room was an enormous couch on which two young women were buoyed up as though upon an anchored balloon. They were both in white and their dresses were rippling and fluttering as if they had just been blown back in after a short flight around the house. I must have stood for a few moments listening to the whip and snap of the curtains and the groan of a picture on the wall. Then there was a boom as Tom Buchanan shut the rear windows and the caught wind died out about the room and the curtains and the rugs and the two young women ballooned slowly to the floor.

Oh F. Scott… I hope that scene is perfect in the movie they are making, but I’m nervous. Although, I did hear it is going to be in 3D and I can just see everyone in the theater reaching out to touch the curtains.

I have to say, I’m glad this past week is over. Here’s to a new one.

2 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · May 17, 2011

    Seriously! I can’t get enough of this post … of Claire. She is so like her mother:) That was awesome. I loved all the pictures and the quote at the end. I especially liked “was an enormous couch on which two young women were buoyed up as though upon an anchored balloon” Katie these mobile Mondays get better and better. I’m happy to have mom out of the hospital room. Love to y’all!

  2. Emily The Cliff · May 17, 2011

    I didn’t know about the new movie! You’re right, hopefully they get it right, but I think if I have faith in a production, then it’s that one.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

