mom

Remember how I scanned tons of photos about a month ago? (I really need to get back to that project.) Well, one of the benefits is coming across old photos of my mom before she was my mom. It’s strange how you start to view your parents as individuals as you get older. My mom would always tell us stories about when she was in elementary school or high school or college or a single gal on the town, but when you’re little, you still somehow imagine that your parents were always your parents. I sometimes wish I could go back in time and just observe my mom as a little girl. I would see someone like this:

Someone who tanned while watering the mink and the chinchilla every day on the farm. Someone who wore two braids down her back.

And then it would be great to see her in high school, painting scenery and working on the yearbook staff. I would especially like to see the time she tripped and slid down the stairs in front of her high school crush.

I imagine that she would be familiar to me even then. Because I have totally seen her make this face.

When she was 24, my mom spent a summer in Hawaii working with some other girls. I found a whole album of her trip, and I could finally put faces to the names of these girls she’s always talked about. Plus, I just love seeing her hanging out with friends and exploring. They had a farewell party at the end of the summer and my mom was voted Most Naive.

How great are these sunglasses?

One benefit to having your mom work as an elementary school teacher for so many years is that you have at least one yearly photo of her.

I’ve been living with my mom since I moved back to Salt Lake a few months ago since I am still paying rent in New Orleans for another month and I want to save up some money and pay off some debt. I was a little worried about what it would be like to move home again, but it’s actually pretty great! I love spending more time with my mom again and hearing all my favorite stories and some new ones, too. I come to know her better with each telling.

6 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · May 9, 2011

    Mom is GORGEOUS!!!

  2. Kate · May 9, 2011

    What a great post! Your mom is absolutely darling. I want to be her friend.

  3. isabelle · May 9, 2011

    Your mom reminds me so much of Claire in the first photo. Claire has the same apple rosy cheeks. Great post for a great lady.

  4. Erica · May 9, 2011

    I absolutely love this post. I can see you and Amanda (and Mike and Matt) everywhere in these photos!

    I have been wanting to do the same thing with pictures of my mom. Especially because everyone says we look alike, but I need to do some side by side comparisons.

  5. Mom · May 10, 2011

    I love you, Katie Elaine, and I look forward to having you come home from work each workday or calling me about that time of day to tell me what you’ll be doing and when you’ll be home. It is amazing how a mother is constantly aware of her child from the moment she’s born until she first moves away from home–then it becomes letters or weekly phone calls. But when you move home again, it is hard to go to sleep at night without knowing where you are and when you’ll be home. I feel so blessed to have this time with you again. You are an amazing lady, Katie-bug!

  6. Kristy · May 11, 2011

    This is so sweet! I really love looking at these photos. Your mom is so pretty and stylish. I really liked seeing all those photos of her in Hawaii. I think Amanda looks a lot like your mom.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

