Mobile Monday 21: Double Dose

Since I was in New Orleans last Monday, I never got around to posting my usual Mobile Monday. I was planning on posting it on Tuesday, but I had a baby shower. And then another one. And a wedding reception. It’s been a busy two weeks. So today’s Mobile Monday encompasses the past two weeks.

I spent the first part of last week getting ready for New Orleans, which meant picking up some presents. Like perhaps a huge box of chocolate-enrobed cinnamon bears. I also acted as courier for birthday gifts from the family, so I stopped by Matt and Izzy’s for an evening and played ball with Claire and Liam.

While out running errands, I came across my first fully-blossomed tree of the season.

And then it was time to go. I spent most of the flight staring out the window, composing the perfect pensive mix tape, and taking pictures of myself.

By the way, I am an awesome traveler. I have the whole security/bag packing thing down. I always wear socks and some slip-on shoes. I don’t wear any metal. I have all my liquids in a quart-sized, easily accessible bag. I take out my license before I get to the airport and put it in my pocket. Basically, I can get through security so fast! As long as I’m not stuck behind business travelers with their belts and their tie-up oxfords and their laptops and their suit coats. The best idea I had a few trips ago, though, was when I realized that my “personal item” didn’t actually have to be my purse. It could be a huge tote bag with my purse, snacks, camera, lens, book, nintendo ds, etc. Yep, that made traveling so much easier.

Then I was back in New Orleans, in my old room, greeted by a “welcome home” gallery of drawings.

And yes, it did feel like going home instead of going on vacation. It felt that way when I went to my old stylist to get my hair cut (and had to tell her that I had moved) and to the French Market and the Creole Creamery and Story Land and sitting next to Peter in church on Sunday (and being asked last-minute to fill in as the Sunbeam teacher) and telling kids to turn around and pay attention in Primary. It felt really great to be back.

And best of all, just spending time with these kids and Amanda and Mike.


(And yes, there are puh-lenty more pictures of them to come.)

But it was a vacation, and all vacations have to end. So early Tuesday morning, I was back at the airport. This time I read my favorite part of the in-flight magazine – the travel destinations and terminal maps.

And played the stupidest most addicting game that Amanda downloaded – pocket frogs. All you do is breed frogs and make them grow. I played it for almost 3 hours! And dreamed about it at night. Luckily, I’ve moved on… er, back to angry birds (where I only have to pass three more levels with all three stars).

I came back to baby showers for some dear friends, and a wedding reception for a second cousin I have never met. The reception was at Thanksgiving Point, which is having their tulip festival right now. I was hoping to see the tulips, but I guess that will have to wait for another trip. It was good to meet up with aunts and uncles and cousins, though. Family really is the best!

And I had some new work decor to brighten my day – some drawings by Claire and Peter and an armadillo to remind me of the swamp.

I made eggs-la (as Claire calls it) sandwiches with dyed Easter eggs and took Claire bowling.

So as much as I miss New Orleans, it’s good to be home.

5 comments

  1. Sara · April 25, 2011

    Yay! A new post! I really love your blog. And I wish I had an aunt like you.

    Also, reading your travel routine cracked me up, because it is so ME. I can completely relate. I do all the same tricks. Having a baby threw me off for the first few trips, but on my latest trip I realized I’m coming close to mastering traveling alone with him as well.

    Thanks to your picture above, I’m off to eat some ice cream now. (And maybe go buy some chocolate covered cinnamon bears, too?)

    • katie · April 27, 2011

      Thanks Sara! I’m so impressed that you can travel well with a baby, too. That would totally throw me off. Babies are adorable, but they come with so much stuff!

  2. Amanda Nicholas · April 26, 2011

    I love that profile picture of you on the plane. I love the creole creamery picture. I love all the photos. I can’t believe how much my frogs have changed. You have the heart one now. They look amazing! I miss that game. I miss you. We miss you! Love you!!!

    • katie · April 27, 2011

      Amanda, I have so many awesome frogs now that I don’t even want to play the game anymore. It’s kind of sad. 😦

  3. kelliebuelo · April 27, 2011

    such a fun trip and great photos!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

