Mobile Monday 19

This past week started off with me leaving work early because I was spending more time sneezing and coughing than actually working. I decided to try some home remedies with this cold, such as some herbal lemon tea (I really don’t like tea) and orange juice with cayenne pepper (which is, surprisingly, kind of great).

I stayed home again on Tuesday because I was still coughing too much. You know, the kind of coughing all day where your side starts hurting? Yeah. All I wanted to do was lay in bed and watch stuff. So I did. I finished up another season of Bones and the second season of Drop Dead Diva and I watched the entire Downton Abbey series (I really loved that one!). I went back to work on Wednesday because it was just a cold after all. And I had plans to meet up with my friend, Alene, for dinner and to hear the author Michael Oondatje speak at the library.

We arrived a little late and had to climb over people to find seats in the auditorium. I just knew the guy next to me was not happy when he saw me pull out some tissues and cough drops. Sorry! The home remedies didn’t seem to help much, so I stopped at the store and picked up some medicine. Ugh, colds.

Friday was an absolutely beautiful day. Mother Nature’s little April Fools joke on us all. But we took advantage. I was still coughing and congested, but it didn’t keep me from walking with Matt, Izzy, and the kids to the Blue Plate Diner for dinner.

On Saturday, I went mini-adventuring in the morning (more on that later) and then came home to listen to LDS General Conference. It was so nice to have it on TV now that I’m living in Zion again. 🙂 A few years ago, my grandpa gave us several boxes of old photos. I’ve been dying to scan them and go through and organize them, but since I have been living a few thousand miles away, I haven’t had the chance. A few Christmases ago, I attempted to use my mom’s scanner, but I couldn’t get it working. Now that I live at home, I’ve been hoping to buy a new scanner and start working on those photos. I decided to try my mom’s scanner one more time before I shell out the money for a new one. And what do you know, it worked! So I ended up spending the next 15 hours scanning. (Don’t worry, I took a break to sleep.)

I’m just doing the grunt work right now. And there’s still many boxes of photos to scan, but it’s been so fun to go through these photos. Most of them are of my dad’s family, including photos of my granny as a toddler in the early 1920s. I will be sharing my favorites in some future blog posts.

5 comments

  1. Kristy · April 5, 2011

    Friend, I’m sorry about your cold. Hope you feel better quick. Isn’t “Downton” the best?! I bought the DVD. Can’t wait for series 2 to come out. I want to go visit the film location, it’s only 30 miles south of me. How spectacular, right?!!

    • katie · April 6, 2011

      Oh man, Kris! I wish I could visit the house with you. I want to see pictures!

  2. Amanda Nicholas · April 6, 2011

    I really like the photos of the medicinal drinks, they look so interesting. It’s fun to see all the pictures of the “Utah” family members now. I guess that’s one of the perks of living with Katie, she’ll document your life beautifully. Miss you!

  3. April · April 6, 2011

    Yuk, sorry you were sick! I don’t like tea either. My home remedy for colds is fresh lemon juice mixed with honey, hot water, and Ginger crystals (used sparingly… they are strong!). Sometimes I cheat and use bottled lemonade. These are the crystals I use: http://www.amazon.com/Prince-Peace-Instant-Ginger-Crystals/dp/B001A5TUDW
    I get them at Whole Foods.

    • katie · April 6, 2011

      Ohh… that sounds good. I’ll have to try it next time. Thanks April!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

