Mobile Monday 14

Since I hardly took any pictures last week, I made a conscious effort to take more pictures for today’s post. The week started off with a surprise holiday. I have never had President’s Day as a paid holiday at work before, so I was pleased to have a day off so soon. I had lunch with a friend and then I did something really exciting – I went to Costco and bought things with my very own Costco membership. I felt like a true adult.

(and yes, I did end up buying more than just dried mangoes.)

Matt and Izzy were gone for the whole first week that I lived in Utah, so I was so excited to have them home. I met up with them for some burgers on Tuesday. Claire told me all about Disneyland and the petting zoo and Medieval Times and Liam just looked cute.

Of course I spent a lot of time at work. What was once new is becoming more familiar. I’m learning the ins and outs of FrameMaker and meeting lots of people.

One of my favorite parts of my new job is going home at night. Not because I hate working but because of the view. The benefit of working on the west side of town is that when I drive home, I get to admire the mountains the whole way.

On Friday, my work had a cookie bake-off. I used Amanda’s recipe for white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. They turned out so delicious (even though I didn’t win the contest).

A few years ago, I was really into scrabble and played it almost every day. I haven’t played for a while, but then some coworkers invited me to play with them during lunch and it has ignited the scrabble fire again. I downloaded Words with Friends (if you play it, too, look me up! I’m alannisteralwayspayshisdebts.) Then a friend introduced me to bananagrams, which I totally love!

I loved opening my blinds on Saturday morning to see such a beautiful snowy world.

I am starting to feel more settled in Salt Lake, although I sometimes have a hard time believing that I’m here to stay. But I got my first paycheck today. I went to the bank to deposit it after work. I pulled up to the drive-thru and waited. And waited. And finally noticed that the car in front of me was parked there. And there were no signs of my financial institution at the building. Apparently, they moved some time over the past three years. It’s been fun to see the other ways that Salt Lake has changed while I’ve been gone. It’s almost like coming back to a new city.

2 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · March 1, 2011

    Katie your cookies look perfect! Well done! Ahhh … I can smell them now.

  2. Nan · March 2, 2011

    Oh man, I love bananagrams! If we ever have a swab party, we should break that out.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

