Along the Way

I can’t believe it was only a week ago that Amanda and I packed up my car (and thanks to her amazing skills, I didn’t have to ship anything) and started the three day journey from New Orleans to Salt Lake City. It seems like forever ago, to be honest. It was such a long trip. I had big plans for what to do and see along the way, but when I was on the road, I mostly just wanted to keep driving. I did make a few short stops along the way, though. The first was to the small town of Natchitoches, Louisiana. You may know it as the setting for Steel Magnolias. I have always heard how beautiful it was and the whole downtown is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was lovely, but it was also rainy and cold. I braved the weather for a few photos of downtown, though.

I loved the wrought iron benches found all along the riverfront.

I spent the night in Dallas, and I had high hopes of exploring the city, even if it was just briefly. But the existence of Dallas is still up for debate, in my opinion, because even though I was right there, I never did see the city. I guess I just completely skirted around it. From Dallas, I went to Santa Fe. My absolute favorite part of the trip was the small stretch of US 84 between I-40 and I-25. I hit it just as the sun was setting and the view was stunning.

I spent the night in Santa Fe and got up extra early the next morning to I could explore a little before hitting the road again. The only place I knew to go was to see the cathedral (thanks to reading all of Willa Cather, including Death Comes for the Archbishop, in my American Writers class at USU), so that’s where I went. It was beautiful.

I drove a little around the town (mostly because I got lost). There was one neighborhood of quaint adobe homes that I just loved, but of course I didn’t get any pictures. Now I really wish I had. But before I left Santa Fe, I had one more detour to make – a side trip to Los Alamos. I mentioned in my last post about the incredible view. Here are some better pictures, even though they still don’t capture the vastness of it:

The sun was just starting to set as I got to Moab. I loved the golden light it shed over everything. I snapped these shots while driving and just hoped they would turn out. I’m actually really amazed that I didn’t have to clean off any spots from my dirty windshield.

The sunset that night was so crisp. The sky was completely empty except for the fading light. I wanted to take a picture, but I wanted even more to just get home. Now it’s snowing outside. If I check the weather app on my phone, this is what I see.

If only I could have gotten a job in the summer instead of right now. I would have had no regrets leaving New Orleans in the summer. 😉

3 comments

  1. Kristy · February 17, 2011

    Oh what a pretty journey you had! I’m glad you made the most of it. xo

  2. kylie · February 17, 2011

    Yeah, I’m really wishing I was in NoLa right now too. 😉

    Beautiful photos!

  3. Pingback: 2011 in Review «

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

