Breaking Up with New Orleans

It’s not you; it’s me.

It’s just that we’ve grown apart. There was nothing that you did. I can’t point to one thing that made me think it’s time for me to leave. It’s just that when I look at my long-term goals – when I see my future – you aren’t there.

I know we’ve had a lot of great times together. It’s those great times that have kept me around for so long. Every time I thought about leaving, I would remember all the restaurants we always talked about visiting, the festivals yet to attend, and so many other promises unfulfilled. I would wonder how I could ever leave the oak-lined streets, the narrow roads lined with architectural beauties, and the pleasant evenings on the sun porch. Really, you’ve been all I ever wanted you to be.

And that’s what makes this break up so hard. It’s not always easy to do what is best. I hope we can still be friends.

p.s. I can’t believe it was almost a year ago that I wrote that love letter. Everything in it is still true. I know that doesn’t help.

One comment

  1. izzy · January 30, 2011

    I love you your the best. YOu Crack me up.
    Come back to the SL,UT. No matter how many times you leave her, she’s still here waiting for you! Can’t wait to have you back.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

