Mobile Monday 8 (and some news!)

The past week was short on photos but big on things happening. First, I got two new things: a haircut and a new lens for my camera (a 28-135, for those who care about things like that).

I went to the temple on Friday night, and on Saturday I was in a car accident. Those aren’t related, but I like doubling up on pictures.

The accident wasn’t a large one, and it’s very difficult to explain, especially if you’re unfamiliar with the roads here in New Orleans. But luckily it wasn’t my fault, and it looks like the other driver’s insurance will cover everythings. I’ve been talking to them about getting it done quickly, too, because I got one more new thing this last week – a new job!

That’s right – I’ll be moving back to Salt Lake City in three weeks. I have really mixed feelings about the move. I was planning to move back in June when Mike and Amanda also leave New Orleans, but this is sooner than I expected. After reading depressing comments on NPR facebook stories about hundreds of people unable to find work and being unemployed for years, I decided that if I wanted a job when I move back to SLC, I should start looking now. I didn’t think I’d find one so quickly. While it’s hard to move so soon (before Mardi Gras and crawfish season, before Peter’s 4th birthday and Penny calling me something other than Sue and Lucy crawling), I feel so fortunate to have a new job with everything I wanted in a job. (They are even giving me a Costco membership as a welcome gift – how cool is that?) And of course, I’m thrilled to live near the rest of my family and friends and in a city that I love.

I’ve already created a bucket list of things to do in New Orleans, so I’m going to live it up. And I have a roadtrip to look forward to, too! (Please just let the weather cooperate.)

15 comments

  1. Kartch · January 17, 2011

    Yay! Congrats on finding a job so quickly! Hopefully I can see you more now. Good luck with moving.

  2. breanna young · January 17, 2011

    what!?!?! NOOOO…..well, you must not skip a day of work so you can use your all you sick days and come back soon! maybe mardi gras. let’s face it your pictures are awesome!!! you will be missed!!! and LOVE the new hair!

  3. kimmiebernhoft · January 17, 2011

    Cute cute hair! What job did you get! Congratulations but sorry it was sooner than you hoped for!

  4. Liz · January 17, 2011

    What’s the job? Congrats!

  5. katie · January 17, 2011

    Thanks guys! It’s another technical writer job, similar to what I’ve been doing here in New Orleans.

  6. kelliebuelo · January 17, 2011

    Hair – love.
    Accident – boo! So sorry about that but glad it’s getting fixed quickly

    As for the job, really happy for you, and I agree that you are fortunate and smart to take it even though it was very soon. I’m really happy for you, and hope we can get together soon after you get back to Utah! Love ya!

  7. Vieve · January 17, 2011

    Awesome! Congrats on the job!

  8. Dylan · January 18, 2011

    Congrats! Nice new lens, I’ve heard great things about it.

    • katie · January 19, 2011

      Thanks! The best thing so far has just been having an extended reach. I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed it. I have yet to actually look at any pictures I’ve taken with it, but I’m optimistic.

  9. April · January 18, 2011

    Sorry about your fender-bender, I hope they can get it fixed fast. And congratulations! Who is your new employer? It will be great to have you back in SL!

    • katie · January 19, 2011

      Thanks April! I’m excited to be back. I’ll send you a DM on twitter with the name of my employer. I don’t like to post about it on the blog. 🙂

  10. Emily Wegener · January 18, 2011

    I’m so happy to hear! If you need any help on the Salt Lake end of the move, I don’t go back to work until February 14 at the earliest.

    • katie · January 19, 2011

      Thanks Em! I will only have a car full, so it shouldn’t be too bad. But I’m excited to get together!

  11. Lisa Meyer · January 19, 2011

    That is great news! Sounds like we need to plan a mini Sister’s Gathering.

    • katie · January 19, 2011

      Definitely!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

