an experiment

Last January, I randomly decided that 2010 was going to be “The Year of Long Hair.” I have never had hair past the very top of my shoulders. I always get frustrated by growing it out and end up cutting it. To avoid that during the year of long hair, I gave up getting my hair cut for Lent. I know it seems silly, especially as Mormons don’t typically observe Lent, but it happened to fall at a pivotal time in my growing out timeline. I knew if I could make it to Easter, I would be ok. And it worked. And I definitely needed the commitment of Lent to keep me from cutting my hair.

My hair got longer slowly, as hair does. I remember feeling so excited about being able to use a pen to put my hair up that I tweeted about it.

At that point, I pretty much always wore my hair up. I don’t know if you know this, but New Orleans is hot in the summer and ponytails were a necessity. And then I got really sick of ponytails, and I started wondering, why am I doing this long hair experiment anyway? What was the point?

If you asked me in January why I decided that 2010 was going to be the Year of Long Hair, I would have said it had to do with the second theme of the year, as pointed out in my tweet: frugality. When you have short hair, you have to get it cut more often. Simple as that. So I thought, why not save a few bucks and try something new. But I think there was a subconscious wondering whether my life would be somehow different with long hair. Would I feel more attractive? Would people notice it more? Would I act differently? In other words, would it somehow change me?

I know, I know… it’s just hair. But I thought of myself as a short hair type of girl. I don’t even know what that means really, but it was a part of myself. And after growing out my hair for 10 months, I decided that I just really like my hair short. I thought about waiting until 2011, but what’s the point of waiting when I knew I’d be cutting my hair anyway?

So I got it cut. Do I regret it? Nah. It’s just hair.

But what’s a post about a haircut without some before and after pictures, especially since most of my readers have never seen me with long hair (and probably never will).

(Can you believe I just wrote that much about growing and cutting my hair?)

6 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · October 18, 2010

    Hair is so much more than hair. I can’t get any deeper than that, at least not right now. I absolutely LOOOOOOVE your new haircut. You look fabulous! Seeing your haircut makes me want to cut my own, and if you know me that’s really saying something.

  2. Erica · October 18, 2010

    Oh friend, you are beautiful either way. It’s funny, though, I cried uncontrollably when I got my hair cut, and have since spent the past three years getting it back to the original length. πŸ˜‰

  3. Kate · October 18, 2010

    My life is a perfect graveyard of buried cut hair. I am constantly in a state of “I’m growing my hair out!” and then cutting it, and then loving it for about 2 weeks, and then growing it out. It keeps life interesting.

  4. kylie · October 18, 2010

    Your long hair was really cute, but you seriously do rock the short hair look! I wish I looked as cute with short hair as you do. Maybe I just haven’t found the right do. Well anyway, loooove it. πŸ˜‰

  5. April · October 20, 2010

    You are adorable no matter the length of your hair, but I gotta say I LOVE the new haircut! From one short-haired girl to another πŸ™‚

  6. kimmie · November 1, 2010

    Wow! A long haired Katie! It was super cute but I do think you look even more amazing with your awesome short hair! And that ‘s coming from a long haired girl who wears a ponytail most days and wishes she could pull off cute short hair. I just don’t think I’m brave enough and couldn’t handle doing it every day! πŸ™‚

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

