close ups

I felt like I just had to get out of the house on Saturday afternoon, so I grabbed my camera and went downtown to explore a little and take pictures of the building. There is one block in particular that I drive through on my way to the French Quarter, and I keep meaning to photograph. So I headed there first, parked the car, pulled out my camera… and realized that I only had my 50 mm lens. It’s a great lens, especially for low lighting and indoors, but for shooting wide angles? Not so much. From across the street, I could only get this view of the building:

Luckily it’s my favorite part. I kind of gave up on my scheme and just ended up driving around trying to decide what to do next. I figured I would go to one of my lesser-visited cemeteries. One cemetery had too many tourists and no place to park, and the other one was closed. Basically, I just took these pictures from the car while driving down Canal Street…

and then I went back home. Hey, not every trip can be exciting, right?

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

