the spiral jetty

Ever since I saw a picture of the spiral jetty in my AP Art History book, I have wanted to visit it. Not only was it the only piece of art in Utah that I had ever seen published in an authoritative book, but it just really captured my imagination. I wanted to see it in person. But it’s not exactly easy to get to. It’s about an hour north of Salt Lake, but then an hour and a half west. Once you exit the freeway, you take a nice highway for about 30 miles until you reach the Golden Spike National Historic Site. Then you take a gravel road that isn’t too bad. And then you take a dirt road with some major bumps. It’s that last part that I was nervous about. Lucky for me, my friend Emily wanted to see the spiral jetty, too, and she had a truck.

I wasn’t sure how large the spiral jetty actually was. None of the pictures I had seen gave it much scale. Well, it is huge. Look how small those people are!

I loved how remote the spiral jetty is. Even though the trip is long (though made much shorter by having a good companion along), it was so worthwhile. I was actually surprised at how many people were making the trek to the jetty. We saw at least 10 people on our way there and back (which was comforting in case we had any car trouble). And I kind of felt a sense of comradery with the other visitors. So much so that I even offered to take a picture of some girls and started a conversation with them out of nowhere. Of course I took tons of pictures because I knew that I would most likely never visit the spiral jetty again. But today I found out about the nifty gallery feature on WordPress, so I can condense all those pictures and you can feel free to peruse them at your leisure.

3 comments

  1. kelliebuelo · September 16, 2010

    why have i never been out there?! really cool.

  2. Senja · October 3, 2010

    The Spiral Jetty really looks so cool!!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Special Announcement! |

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

