finding a pound in the underground

I have been neglecting my Music Monday posts of late. I just haven’t listened to anything I really wanted to post. But then I got notice that my WordPress space upgrade is expiring at the end of August, which means I won’t be able to upload mp3 files anymore, which means the end of Music Monday. So I thought I had better take advantage of it while it’s still around.

Part of the reason I haven’t been very committed to Music Monday is that I kind of feel this pressure that I should be posting something hip and obscure. Even though a quick glance at the Music Monday archives reveals that I haven’t ever actually posted anything like that, I still feel that expectation. I think the most successful Music Monday posts, from my perspective, are the ones where the songs connect in some way to my life. I tend to be a little (a lot) sentimental, so I really like resurrecting some of these old songs and sharing them.

With that in mind, I am going to post some songs that I have been wanting to share for months. It kind of surprises me how much I love these songs and how often I listen to them. The Sundays go back to high school. It’s another band whose CDs I used to steal from my brother. Then I finally found a used copy of Reading, Writing, & Arithmetic at a used music store during my first year of college in Mass. They evoke rainy days, long drives, singing at the top of my lungs, and feeling just a little melancholy. My favorite way to feel. As usual, I can’t decide on a song, so here are three:

The Sundays: My Finest Hour

The Sundays: Can’t Be Sure

The Sundays: Here’s Where the Story Ends

Related anecdote: Last season on American Idol, Kara DioGuardi told one of the contestants that she should sing a song by the Sundays. Just that minor reference actually made me like her for a good several weeks. Unfortunately, the contestant chose my least favorite Sundays song to sing. Such a wasted opportunity.

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

