Saturday Is a Special Day

One of the things on my To Do list since being called into the Primary at church is to completely redecorate the Primary room. It desperately needed some work, so on Saturday I bought a plastic set of drawers, five sheets of poster board, glitter, glue, and a ton of construction paper. Then I went to the church and set to work. Seven hours and a whole lot of episodes of Angel later, and this is what I came up with.

(I plan on putting a glittery star for each primary kid up there, too.)

I know, lots of rainbows. I was going to put the words to a primary song that says, “I like to look for rainbows whenever there is rain,” but it took so long to tape up the words on the star wall that I didn’t have the patience to do it again.

I had to do lots of organizing and de-junking.

And yes, there’s still more to do. I haven’t even taken pictures of my singing time and sharing time props. So far, my role as primary president is demanding and challenging, but also really fun. I just thought I’d blog about it because I’m spending tons of time working on it. And you know, if anyone has any great tips on decorating a room for primary or brilliant ideas to share, I’d love to hear them.

4 comments

  1. Amanda Nicholas · July 7, 2010

    Keep up the good work, it’s already looking so much more inviting:)

  2. kimmie · July 8, 2010

    How did I miss that you’re Primary President!? I know that you are awesome! The room looks fabulous and very inviting! Since you asked for ideas, I blogged a long time ago about my bulletin boards when I was pres in our old ward. Here’s the link if you want to see what I did. It went along with the theme for last year. I love Primary and was so sad to leave it when we moved here!

    http://bandksmith.blogspot.com/2009/05/while-i-was-out.html

    Tell Amanda good luck tomorrow! It’s crazy to think that our oldest are the same age and she’ll have three kids now! I’m still adjusting to two!

    • ktelaine · July 8, 2010

      kimmie, that bulletin board is aMAZing! I wanted to do something with the theme, but this year’s theme “I Know That My Redeemer Lives” doesn’t lend itself well to bulletin boards. So I opted to go with some of my favorite primary songs. I am seriously impressed by your bulletin board skills!

  3. Jaime · July 26, 2010

    Look at you primary president! Looking great!

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

