Walking Around Savannah

So a trip to Savannah in June may not have been the best idea. It was hot. Really, really hot. Although Savannah has plenty of shade due to the massive live oaks lining all of the streets, it still wasn’t the ideal weather for wandering around town admiring the architecture, which is basically what we had planned. But we still did a little exploring.

Savannah is the home to the Savannah College of Art and Design, and you see its influence everywhere. A lot of the buildings there had been restored and used by the college.

We received several recommendations to eat at Mrs. Wilkes for lunch, but it was closed. Instead, we ate at the Gryphon Tea Room, which I believe is another building renovated by SCAD. It was a pharmacy a hundred years ago and still has some of the old fixtures, but with a contemporary twist. I loved the orange chairs.

And the matching orange sweet potato fries.

Plus, my sandwich was delicious and they served ginger ale, so all-in-all, it was an excellent lunch spot.

Confession: I have been following a blog by someone who lives in Savannah called Turn-of-the-Centuries ever since one of my readers here recommended it to me. (Thanks Grettir!) Kirsten, the writer of the blog, has been drawing individual blocks of Savannah, and I love to see them. I was excited to walk along Jones Street and see if I could spot the houses. It’s a lot harder with trees and cars parked in front of them, but it gave me a new appreciation for the task of drawing them. I didn’t get any really great pictures of Jones Street, but here are two.

I was so taken with the way the townhouses were built up high and the twisting staircases on each. They delighted me every time I saw one.

More stories and photos from Savannah to come.

2 comments

  1. April · June 21, 2010

    Wow, how incredibly beautiful! I’d love to go there someday (perhaps when the weather’s a bit cooler?).

  2. kelliebuelo · June 21, 2010

    gorgeous! i’d love to visit one day. isn’t it weird how the photos make it look nice and cool and shady and pleasant?

I love comments! Seriously, they make my day. Thanks for contributing to the conversation!

